On page 19 it states that: "In a game with only two or three players, strongholds may not be placed in any area on the outer row or column of the main kingdom map."
We've been diliberating over what exactly this rule is meaning. Since the board is made up of Hex it isn't clear on the left and right hand sides which is the outer hex.
The top and bottom of the map seem fairly obvious...nothing on the top or bottom row of the map....but what about the sides? In other words the lower left hand corner of the map is out even if it is razed. What about the hex to the upper right of it? Is that one considered to be an outer column / row?