Jump to content



Photo

Is it uncommon to run through your plot deck more than once in a game?


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 latarian

latarian

    Member

  • Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 18 September 2011 - 01:53 PM

 I've been playing with some friends recently, and we're still getting the hang of the game, the only thing is that sometimes we find that we go through all our plot cards before the game is over. I was trying to find a rule regarding whether or not that means the game is over. So I suppose my questions are.

Once you've run through your plot decks, is the game over?

If not, what do you do with your plot deck?

Is it uncommon for us to have an average of 7 or 8 power by the time we've already gone through all seven of our plot decks?

 

Thanks for any answers, and or advice.



#2 alpha5099

alpha5099

    Member

  • Members
  • 561 posts

Posted 18 September 2011 - 03:03 PM

 It depends on the length of the game, obviously. It's probably pretty rare if you're playing jousts, but it doesn't seem all that uncommon for melee in my admittedly limited experience. The game is going to go more slowly if you're all still learning the mechanics, and if you're using the Core Set decks. You're not doing anything wrong if you're cycling through plots.

As for what to do when you run out of plots, you simply start over. When you get to your last plot, after you've played it, take the 6 plots in your used pile, and they're now your plot deck. The seventh plot is the new used pile.



#3 Starblayde

Starblayde

    Member

  • Members
  • 106 posts

Posted 18 September 2011 - 08:53 PM

Decks with a lot of Renown or based around a Power rush can often get to 15 within 2-3 rounds. Sometimes you have to go through your entire plot deck twice to get to 15 power... depends on the deck build, your opponent, your draw, your number of challenges. So no, it's not uncommon.



#4 latarian

latarian

    Member

  • Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 19 September 2011 - 04:04 AM

 After the second go through of the deck, do you still choose your plot cards, or are they randomized.



#5 Ratatoskr

Ratatoskr

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,581 posts

Posted 19 September 2011 - 04:09 AM

latarian said:

 After the second go through of the deck, do you still choose your plot cards, or are they randomized.

Have a look at the rulebook, page 11 (emphasis mine):

"Each player simultaneously chooses and reveals
one plot card from his plot deck. Plot cards are
kept in three states: in the plot deck, revealed,
and used. When you reveal a plot card during
the plot phase, it moves from your plot deck to
a revealed state. When you reveal a new plot
card, place it on top of your previously revealed
plot card. (All plot cards under your currently
revealed plot card are considered your “used”
plots.) If this was the last card in your plot deck,
return all your previously played plots (except
the one just revealed) to your plot deck after your
revealed plot has taken effect.
"



#6 latarian

latarian

    Member

  • Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 19 September 2011 - 04:41 AM

 And one more thing to clarify, you don't *choose* your plot card each round right? You just have them in a pile and draw them. So if you have valar morghulis, when you get it is a total surprise.



#7 Saturnine

Saturnine

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,558 posts

Posted 19 September 2011 - 04:42 AM

 Have a look at the rulebook, page 11 (emphasis mine):

"Each player simultaneously chooses and reveals
one plot card from his plot deck. Plot cards are
kept in three states: in the plot deck, revealed,
and used. When you reveal a plot card during
the plot phase, it moves from your plot deck to
a revealed state. When you reveal a new plot
card, place it on top of your previously revealed
plot card. (All plot cards under your currently
revealed plot card are considered your “used”
plots.) If this was the last card in your plot deck,
return all your previously played plots (except
the one just revealed) to your plot deck after your
revealed plot has taken effect."



#8 Saturnine

Saturnine

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,558 posts

Posted 19 September 2011 - 04:42 AM

latarian said:

 And one more thing to clarify, you don't *choose* your plot card each round right? You just have them in a pile and draw them. So if you have valar morghulis, when you get it is a total surprise.

No, you choose them.



#9 latarian

latarian

    Member

  • Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 19 September 2011 - 06:53 AM

 Thank you :)



#10 Circadia

Circadia

    Member

  • Members
  • 85 posts

Posted 21 September 2011 - 05:17 AM

latarian said:

 And one more thing to clarify, you don't *choose* your plot card each round right? You just have them in a pile and draw them. So if you have valar morghulis, when you get it is a total surprise.

The game would be absolutely terrible if that was how it was played. No wonder you need to go through your plot deck more than once!



#11 Mighty Jim

Mighty Jim

    Member

  • Members
  • 507 posts

Posted 06 October 2011 - 04:31 AM

Circadia said:

latarian said:

 

 And one more thing to clarify, you don't *choose* your plot card each round right? You just have them in a pile and draw them. So if you have valar morghulis, when you get it is a total surprise.

 

 

The game would be absolutely terrible if that was how it was played. No wonder you need to go through your plot deck more than once!

Not sure about "Terrible" it would certainly be VERY different



#12 zachbunn

zachbunn

    Member

  • Members
  • 101 posts

Posted 20 November 2011 - 01:34 PM

 I know we went through our plot decks about one and a half times so long as we were just using the core set. Once we started expanding, that quickly changed to generally seeing 4-6 of the plots.


Do or do not, there is no try.


#13 Serazu

Serazu

    Member

  • Members
  • 326 posts

Posted 08 March 2012 - 01:51 AM

It really depends on the game and the tactics used. A control vs control for instance will take long. Possibly more that 7 turns. I 've played games that lasted 2 turns and games that ended at around 10.



#14 Shanif 88

Shanif 88

    Member

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 06 April 2012 - 08:33 AM

Nothing feels better than crushing your opponent in 3 turns or less



#15 Amuk

Amuk

    Member

  • Members
  • 267 posts

Posted 14 May 2012 - 11:12 AM

I played in a Regional this weekend with a Lanni Power Behind the Throne deck. I took a Targ burn deck to 7 Rounds and a Stark Kings of Winter/Shadows deck to 9 (which I think was the most Rounds of any game in the tourney, though I'm not positive). Those were exceptions, though. You should expect tourney games to be over by Round 4 or 5 (at least 2 games this weekend ended on Round 2).


Cordially,

Amuk

 

"Life is a tragedy for those who feel & a comedy for those who think." - Jean de la Bruyère


#16 Unbowed, Unbent, Unbroken

Unbowed, Unbent, Unbroken

    Member

  • Members
  • 54 posts

Posted 20 May 2012 - 11:35 AM

Also, kill vs. kill decks take a long time to finish. I played my stark kill against my targ burn, and the game lasted 14 turns. 






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS