Jump to content



Photo

Combat questions!


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 D_M

D_M

    Member

  • Members
  • 12 posts

Posted 12 September 2011 - 10:06 PM

Hello!

Just wanted to see what you say on the following.

My friend plays a strength 2 horseman, the I play a strength 2 pikeman...do I win because I attack and I have trumph?

If so, then my strength 2 pikeman still stands, and my friend plays a strength 2 horseman again...then what? does he win even though I have trumph because he is attacking? or do I win due to the trumph, or is it a tie?

Would he need a strength 3 horseman to win in this case?

Any takes?

 

Best regards.

 



#2 Fnoffen

Fnoffen

    Member

  • Members
  • 536 posts

Posted 14 September 2011 - 01:53 AM

D_M said:

Hello!

Just wanted to see what you say on the following.

My friend plays a strength 2 horseman, the I play a strength 2 pikeman...do I win because I attack and I have trumph?

You win because the pikemen trumphs the horsemen. Wether you are the attacker or defender is completley and utterly irrelevant. Trumph is trumph.

D_M said:

If so, then my strength 2 pikeman still stands, and my friend plays a strength 2 horseman again...then what? does he win even though I have trumph because he is attacking? or do I win due to the trumph, or is it a tie?

Following the same rules of trumping, you would win. Thus it would make more sense for your friend to play his horsemen in a new front, which would be a totally legal move as you do not HAVE to attack an existing front when playing a unit.

D_M said:


 

Would he need a strength 3 horseman to win in this case?

Any takes?

Either that or strength 2(or more) archers. The archers would in this case be better as the strength 3 horsemen would be damaged and risk being killed by a possible strength 1 spearman played by you.

D_M said:

Best regards.

 

No worries. Better to ask and possibly seem dim than to not ask and actually be dim.


Pax Magnifica Bellum Gloriosum


#3 D_M

D_M

    Member

  • Members
  • 12 posts

Posted 15 September 2011 - 06:44 AM

Thanks : )  

That helped to clear out some differences we had : )

And just to be on the safe side, a follow up question.

If like in the above scenario I play a strength 2 pikeman, and my friend plays the same....are both killed or is it a tie?

Best Regards.

 



#4 Fnoffen

Fnoffen

    Member

  • Members
  • 536 posts

Posted 15 September 2011 - 09:54 PM

Since neither of the two units trumph the other they would do simultanious damage and both be killed. Once again, opening a new front would be the better choice here.


Pax Magnifica Bellum Gloriosum





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS