Jump to content



Photo

rules question


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 sserre

sserre

    Member

  • Members
  • 40 posts

Posted 11 September 2011 - 04:02 AM

Hi,

i just started playing battles of westeros, and the more i play it , the more i love it..
great game of ffg imo.

i have some questions that aren't that clear to me in the rules:

1) When a unit attacks another unit the defender has a change to counterattack the attacking unit if he did not have to retreat. Does morale results trigger when rolling dice during a counterattack? since its actually a defending units abillity and in core rules are marked that attacking unit may choose to trigger the morale result or not.

2) does hits stack? for example, units that have cover or toughness can ignore first hit been done to them, so if i have for example two units attacking one opponent unit and i got 1 hit with my engaged unit, and again 1 hit with my flanking unit does those hits stack and cause the defender to remove one figure from the board, or do i need to do two hits with one attacking unit at once?

 

3) i played the third scenario of the core game, and one of the stark leaders has toughness 1 in that scenario (don't remember his name). When you have following situation

a) only the stark leader remains of the unit -> to capture him you need to do three hits i assume (2 for his capture rating + thougness 1).

b) if the toughness 1 was provided by the infantry card but not by the leadership card itself do you need to do then two hits to capture him or still three. I assume two hits, because all infantry on the unit are destroyed, so the leader also loses the thougness 1 provided by the infantry card.

 

4) i assume when you make a flank attack against the defending unit, the defending unit has still the possibility to counterattack even if engaged with another unit? or can a defending unit only counterattack once during a round?

 

5) when you make a flank attack against another defending unit which causes the defender to retreat, can you advance or persue with the engaged unit even if already routed?

 

thx for replying. kr wesley, keep on playing



#2 Rashley

Rashley

    Member

  • Members
  • 247 posts

Posted 11 September 2011 - 10:31 PM

Remember that a unit can only counterattack if it has that ability like 'Stalwart'.  If a unit is forced to retreat it cannot counterattack with 'Stalwart'.

If a unit has 'Toughness 1' it ignores 1 hit from all individual attacks.  Yes, it makes Rickard Stark very tough to remove.  A single Leader figure still has all the abibities of the unit it was.  Look at the optional 'Coordinated attacks' rules.  This gives the option of combining 2 or more attacks into 1 large one at a slightly reduced value.  With the 'Retreat' and 'Counterattack' rules, you now have the option of say 2 x 3 dice attacks or 1 x 5 dice attack.

Advancing does not allow you to attack again but 'Pursuing' does - just once.  You could retreat a unit a second time, but you don't have to attack the same unit you retreated.

I hope this helps.  Cheers!



#3 fulgeru99

fulgeru99

    Member

  • Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 11 October 2011 - 10:20 AM

 Can somebody post his opinion on this?



#4 fulgeru99

fulgeru99

    Member

  • Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 11 October 2011 - 11:17 AM

 Did you try posting your questions here?

http://www.fantasyflightgames.com/edge_faq.asp






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS