Jump to content



Photo

wounds


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 monk

monk

    Member

  • Members
  • 136 posts

Posted 08 September 2011 - 12:48 AM

Hi,

I've just finished reading the part about dealing wounds to locusts. The rules show an example of a locust being given 1 wound. If drones have health of 3 how do you recorded the second wound as all markers have a 1 on them. Rules state that only one marker can be placed under a locust at anytime and also gives a special not saying something like 'as all drone wound markers are 1 it doesn't relate to damage give...' (or something similar).

Can someone describe giving wounds to locusts please.

Thanks



#2 ThomO

ThomO

    Member

  • Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 08 September 2011 - 01:55 AM

They only take two hits, I had to read through the wounds on locusts several times myself.  Here is the text form page 19 of the rule book.

Each Locust figure can only exist in one of two states:
healthy (no wound marker under its base) or wounded
(a single wound marker under its base).
If a Locust figure is dealt a number of wounds that is less
than its current health value (as indicated on its Enemy
card), it is wounded. Place a wound marker (of the same
Locust type) under its base. The value on the marker is
now that Locust figure’s health.
If a Locust figure is dealt a number of wounds that equals
or exceeds its current health value (as indicated on its
Enemy card or on its wound marker), it is killed. Remove
the figure from the map and place a dropped weapon
marker facedown, or if unwounded, drawing a
new marker from the pile of unused wound markers.
This marker is either discarded or becomes a dropped
weapon marker as described on page 20.
Some Locust figures do not have wound markers (such
as Tickers) because they only have one health. A single
wound kills this figure type, and these figures never
drop weapons.
If a wounded Locust is dealt wounds less than the health
listed on his wound marker, it is not killed (nor wounded
a second time). It simply retains its wound marker until
dealt enough damage to kill it.
Some abilities use the phrase “deal 1 wound to each
figure in the area.” In this circumstance, each COG in the
area is dealt 1 wound (must discard 1 Order card), and
each Locust in the area is dealt a single wound.
If a Locust figure is healed, its wound marker is discarded
to the pile of unused wound markers.
Reminder: the health value listed on wound markers does
not necessarily reflect the exact number of wounds dealt
to the figure (see the “Important Note” on page 18).

So even if a Locust has 3 health to begin with and you deal it less wounds than it has health you place the wound marker under it and from then on that's it's health.  Makes some of them harder to kill when healthy but once wounded they can go down pretty fast.



#3 monk

monk

    Member

  • Members
  • 136 posts

Posted 08 September 2011 - 03:35 AM

Ok, I get it now, thanks.

One last thing, when placing these wound markers only some have weapons on the back. Is it random as to which marker you put down or can chose to (or not to) place a wound marker with a weapon on the reverse side. I guess you aren't meant to look at the reverse of the marker until the locust has been removed as it's more to chance whether they drop a weapon, but just want to check.

Thanks



#4 Imperialish

Imperialish

    Member

  • Members
  • 12 posts

Posted 08 September 2011 - 05:52 AM

You randomly take the wound marker, without looking at the reverse and place it on the board.



#5 Robin

Robin

    Member

  • Members
  • 694 posts

Posted 12 October 2013 - 02:29 PM

So, just to be sure, a wounded Locust has only a health equal to the wound marker?
That would mean that it dies if it suffers wounds equal to or more than what is indicated on the wound marker, the next time it is attacked?
I am not speaking of the "3 step" Berserker.

Edited by Robin, 12 October 2013 - 03:02 PM.

An adventure is only an inconvenience rightly considered. An inconvenience is an adventure wrongly considered.
G. K. Chesterton

#6 Angus Lee

Angus Lee

    Member

  • Members
  • 425 posts

Posted 13 October 2013 - 04:56 AM

So, just to be sure, a wounded Locust has only a health equal to the wound marker?
That would mean that it dies if it suffers wounds equal to or more than what is indicated on the wound marker, the next time it is attacked?
I am not speaking of the "3 step" Berserker.

Yes, it is correct.


  • Robin likes this
Once ... Always ...

My blog (in Simplified Chinese): http://blog.sina.com/b0ardgames

#7 Robin

Robin

    Member

  • Members
  • 694 posts

Posted 13 October 2013 - 08:45 AM

Thanks.

And, if wounded, is suffers damage inferior to its health level, nothing happens.

Right ?


An adventure is only an inconvenience rightly considered. An inconvenience is an adventure wrongly considered.
G. K. Chesterton

#8 Angus Lee

Angus Lee

    Member

  • Members
  • 425 posts

Posted 13 October 2013 - 10:33 PM

Thanks.

And, if wounded, is suffers damage inferior to its health level, nothing happens.

Right ?

You're correct again


  • Robin likes this
Once ... Always ...

My blog (in Simplified Chinese): http://blog.sina.com/b0ardgames




© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS