Jump to content



Photo

Basic March order question


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Achandra

Achandra

    Member

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 24 August 2011 - 12:30 PM

 Hi, I apologize if this has been asked already but I have a question about a tactic I have been testing out that depends on whether a march order can stay on a board after one unit has been moved from a location. 

 

Hypothetical. TURN 1: Baratheon lays an attack order in shipbreaker bay and move 1 ship into the Narrow Sea. Baratheon leaves march order in shipbreaker. On the same turn, Stark marches a ship into the Narrow Sea and defeats the Baratheon ship in the Narrow Sea. On the second round of march orders, can Baratheon march the second ship in Shipbreaker bay to attack the Stark ship in the narrow sea.

From my understanding of the rules, the March order is pulled when it follows an attack, but could I get clarification on this? Can the same march order be used in two turns to see how other players lay ground



#2 Rubinon

Rubinon

    Member

  • Members
  • 123 posts

Posted 24 August 2011 - 08:34 PM

No. When you resolve a march order, you have to decide for each unit if you want to move it and where. Then, the march order is discarded.



#3 ronsen_04

ronsen_04

    Member

  • Members
  • 107 posts

Posted 28 August 2011 - 05:49 AM

Correct, both Mobilize orders and Pillage orders are discarded after they are resolved.  Only Defense and Support orders stay until the game round is over.

Think about it this way:  you send an order to the commander of all forces in a specific area.  This order tells the commander what to do.  The amount of troops and destination of the march may change or the commander may decide not to march at all.  But after this order is resolved (and you have to resolve 1 Mobilize order every turn until all players have resolved all of their Mobilize orders) it is discarded.

If you could march some but not all troops and leave the Mobilize order in place, when would a game round be over?  After all players finally decided that they kept passing to see what the other players do first and thus spent the last three weeks passing turns?  Come on, some common sense, people!






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS