help me build a blackmoor estate deck

• Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 kamacausey

kamacausey

• Members
  • 212 posts

Posted 22 August 2011 - 11:30 AM

im wanting to build a blackmoor estate deck but i dont know of very many cards that mill besides blackmoor estate. anyone care to chime in and help out a noob here? is there a viable blackmoor estate deck out there? is there even enough cards that mill in the game? im thinking of mixing yog and cthulhu or yog and hastur. whats the better combo for a deck like that?

#2 Phantom287

Phantom287

• Members
  • 89 posts

Posted 22 August 2011 - 02:40 PM

kamacausey said:

im wanting to build a blackmoor estate deck but i dont know of very many cards that mill besides blackmoor estate. anyone care to chime in and help out a noob here? is there a viable blackmoor estate deck out there? is there even enough cards that mill in the game? im thinking of mixing yog and cthulhu or yog and hastur. whats the better combo for a deck like that?

I'm not too familiar with Yog's faction, but cures of stone and things in the ground would be good for milling, and you could recycle curse of stone with Yog-Sothoth's new version in the Yuggoth Contract Cycle. I would also reccomend putting in some fairly tough creatures for defence to prevent your opponent from winning stories while you're milling them (such as flying polyps from Yog-Sothoth's faction). I would also reccomend using Cthulhu, and his main priority could be story defense, either through strong creatures or destroying other creatures to keep the opponent well under control.

Their may be other mill cards, but those were certainly used to great effect to mill me out of the World Tournament at GenCon.

#3 TheProfessor

TheProfessor

• Members
  • 1,055 posts

Posted 22 August 2011 - 04:33 PM

For Yog, you want things like Gatekeeper, Hermetic Scholar, Prism of Many Views, Things in the Ground, Wandering Gug,