Jump to content



Photo

Coins from newly researched Tech


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Ringarin

Ringarin

    Member

  • Members
  • 95 posts

Posted 21 August 2011 - 12:39 PM

I think I"m doing this right, but thought I'd ask to double check. If you research a tech that provides a coin you don't benefit from it right away do you? As in I am at 4 coins, I research a tech to give me a 5th. I drop to 4 trade not 5, right?



#2 Fnoffen

Fnoffen

    Member

  • Members
  • 536 posts

Posted 22 August 2011 - 12:48 AM

I'd say correct since, as I see it, you pay for the research before you get the tech...


Pax Magnifica Bellum Gloriosum


#3 civBob

civBob

    Member

  • Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 22 August 2011 - 04:39 PM

I'd interpret that differently. From pg. 21 "Example 2: If the player from example 1 possessed four coins, they would retain 4 trade after learning Sailing."

This is saying you first learn the tech, and then you retain trade based on the number of coins you possess. If a tech gives you a coin, I'd count it toward retaining trade immediately.



#4 Fnoffen

Fnoffen

    Member

  • Members
  • 536 posts

Posted 22 August 2011 - 10:12 PM

I suppose a rules question should be sent in to get an official answer.

Although I think that either way would work since it's not really that much of a game-breaking thing. As long as all players agree to going either way of course.


Pax Magnifica Bellum Gloriosum


#5 civBob

civBob

    Member

  • Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 23 August 2011 - 02:12 AM

I think I'm wrong on this one. Having slept and looked at the rule book again, summarizing, it says players place the researched tech facedown in front of them in their pyramid until all players are ready to reveal their newly researched tech. In this regard, you'd have already spent and retained trade from coins, before the tech is revealed.

This is yet another nuance part of the rules my friends and I have played incorrectly; we'd research simultaneously but simply place the tech face up - in some cases, allowing others to see their opponents tech before choosing themselves.



#6 axmeister

axmeister

    Member

  • Members
  • 21 posts

Posted 03 November 2011 - 10:15 AM

We've always played it so that when you research a tech, you get the coin straight away and then you drop down to your new amount of coins. But I guess we could have been playing it wrong.



#7 wootersl

wootersl

    Member

  • Members
  • 123 posts

Posted 03 November 2011 - 12:26 PM

Well, I read the rules differently. I would say you actually get the benefit of the coins on the same turn you research. According to the rulebook:

"The only exception to this rule is for players who possess coins. Coins allow a player to retain 1 trade after researching for each coin the player possesses."

The key here is that you retain 1 trade AFTER researching. And later in the rulebook is this:

"So, for example, when a player learns Engineering, which unlocks Aqueducts, they flip over any Granaries they’ve already produced, immediately upgrading them to Aqueducts."

The key in this sentence is that you IMMEDIATELY upgrade your buildings. So, that goes to follow that you IMMEDIATELY gain a coin from a tech. Seems clear to me that if you were at 4 coins and learned a tech that gave you a coin, you would reduce your tech down to 5 coins.



#8 ballpark7

ballpark7

    Member

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 09 November 2011 - 09:41 AM

It sounds like the Board Game could use an Official FFG FAQ Sheet clarifying the rules...






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS