Jump to content
Posted 12 August 2011 - 04:45 PM
errata: can be countered with lannister playing control westeros in first turn NOT hold territory. but again, in the first turn not likely.
Posted 14 August 2011 - 10:38 PM
c'mon crew!! for all the views ive had no input to the yay or nay. only introduced to the game 4 days before writing this so i have no idea of any errata, updates, forum chats or the like which would debunk it, and ive never had the chance to try it out. and it can be countered with both control westeros and hold territory but if this happens just dont activate the careful planning and collect all the power till lannister slips up or tries to move away (i know - UNFAIR). also added the following notes:
Also if lannister moves his ship to sunset sea this is no problem as he cant raid both your support and activate his leader before you activate yours. Simply support with ironmans bay as well for an attack on riverrun. This ship will only be a nuisance until its destroyed or chased into the bay of ice.
Lets say for example that lannister moves his ship out to the sunset sea. Heres what happens:
Its fair to presume that he’ll be trying to raid + 1 both your support ships. If he does this then he cant activate his leader before you do. Raiding with your alternate leader nets a score of (2 + 1 + 2 + 1 + 1) and then with the sword and your 3 card = 11. Lannister will have at the most a 5 (2 leaders a knight and a footman) + 2 for the support of the 2nd footman. Using his 4 card = 11.
The only way to counter this is for lannister to play hold territories with his sea raid. If this be the case then cancel your own raid and wait for him to attack you. Without your ship support you will have a score of 12. But now lannister hasn’t played control westeros and also has a score of 12.
If on the off chance lannister is bold and attacks with his ship. Move + 1 for a score of 2. Your ship has hold territories and a support for a score of 3.
Posted 15 August 2011 - 04:51 PM
OH WOE IS TO BE THE HOUSE OF LANNISTER
Presuming all this still makes sense……….
In my head (with a lack of a board) the predicted outcome for turn 3 is that as you couldn’t win in turn 2, your entire force now sits at stoney sept (and has to for any hope of retaking lannisport), greyjoys forces are in riverrun, and your ship sits outside at sunset sea hassling the ones in ironmans bay and the golden sound. Greyjoy has played his 4 and 3 house card and to counter you used cersei (1) to limit the power gain to 1 for greyjoy, and tywin (2) as the lower cost fortification to counter dagmars sword. Im fairly certain this is best case scenario. Looking ok if not for the fact that should a muster come along you have a combined total of ZERO.
Lets also say that greyjoy no longer has the sword in round 3 but is still higher than lannister on the fiefdoms track and that the flip of the orders reveals greyjoy controlling westeros with 2 ship supports and a raid from riverrun. There are 3 things lannister can try:
1 – attack riverrun with a control westeros of his own. A rating of 9 vs 8. A win finally!! Greyjoy plays his theon card to counter any swords sustained (even gregors only gets 1) and retreats to lannisport. Oh. Poo. Round 4 and he still controls 2 vital ports.
2 – raid to lannisport with a hold territories. Defend against greyjoys counter raid with an 8 vs a supported 11. Ouch. He only needs a 1 house card to win. Back to the stoney sept he goes.
3 – raid greyjoys support with his ship and try to hold the stoney sept then raid/move to lannisport. even playing a hold territories he can only muster a 7 (no stronghold or city) against an attack of 9. Greyjoy needs a 2 and has one. Its either harrenhal and no hope of lannisport till at least turn 5 or into the open of searoad marches. An army without a home!!
Poor lannisport can either face this sad fate and pray that there is a call for bids and he gets a higher fiefdom than greyjoy AND that there are no musters meanwhile OR
Play hold territories/control westeros from turn 1, and watch everyone else gaining power whilst keeping his forces within a region of lannisport and pray there is NOT a call for bids OR a muster. Because he is first in turn of play if he musters ships then greyjoy musters troops and probably has seagard and flints finger due to the inactivity, then campaigns through riverrun with a superior force. If he musters troops then greyjoy musters ships, overpowers any defences and supports an inferior force through lannisport (a ship is as good as a footman along the coast) which makes for an even battle and with greyjoy outbidding any hope lannister has of a higher fiefdom, this still spells doom.
With these 2 vital eastern ports and a muster greyjoy can then hold the coastline and repel any invasion from stark who at the most has all the northern castles (5). All he has to do is HOLD LANNISPORT and as MIGHT be seen, this is possible well into round 4.
Phew. I think im done now.
Would just like to know.
Does it all make sense?
Posted 15 August 2011 - 09:34 PM
Phew, it's a lot to take in I've just started playing so it took me a few turns to get my head round it but now I need to get four friends together and try this out! They'll love me for it i'm sure
Oh, and you talk of 4 cards. Are you playing with the expansions or just straight out the basic box?
Posted 18 August 2011 - 05:35 PM
with the expansions which include the leaders and the ports. hope it works and hope you enjoy!!
Posted 01 September 2011 - 08:42 AM
AND THANKYOU! finally, after 200 views, someone kindly pointed out a flaw in the plan. and from another site!! as i was asking, after only playing once on anothers board, i just needed the perspective of a veterans experience to show "it was all a crock".