New Player Question

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Hastur360

Hastur360

• Members
  • 63 posts

Posted 06 August 2011 - 09:56 AM

I am new to this game. My friend has the core set. I want to play House Greyjoy and wonder if purchasing the Kings of the Sea box would be enough for me to make a deck that would be playable with the decks you can build from one core set? It doesn't have to be tournament level competitive just enough to play against the four base decks that can be constructed out of one Core set.

#2 Old Ben

Old Ben

• Members
  • 612 posts

Posted 06 August 2011 - 10:52 AM

The Greyjoy box allows you to build a deck that´s on the same level as the Core Set decks. Just make sure you get the reprinted version. 

The difference is that the original box had each card x1 and the expansion has each card x3. 

Oh and it would be good if you had a few plots at hand to make a more viable plot deck, e.g. including Valar Morghulis or maybe wildfire assault should be necessary for a much more reliable deck. But you could of course agree with your firned to allow one or two proxies in the plot deck.

#3 Saturnine

Saturnine

• Members
  • 1,558 posts

Posted 06 August 2011 - 11:05 AM

Old Ben said:

The Greyjoy box allows you to build a deck that´s on the same level as the Core Set decks. Just make sure you get the reprinted version. 

The difference is that the original box had each card x1 and the expansion has each card x3. 

Yes, make sure you get the box that says "Revised Edition"

#4 Hastur360

Hastur360

• Members
  • 63 posts

Posted 08 August 2011 - 01:50 PM