Jump to content



Photo

Few questions about moving


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 DocSavage

DocSavage

    Member

  • Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 01 August 2011 - 07:59 PM

Advance after a fire combat

Infantry units in open order may shoot at enemy units in different hexes. How may this unit advance after a combat if different hexes become vacant?

Advance after melee combat

If attacked hex becomes vacant, a unit must advance. But infantry in open order is not disordered after this advance (as after the advance in a fire combat). Is that correct?

Movement

Infantry units in line may not move. Why are they allowed to do so during an advance after combat and a retreat? Is that prohibited only for normal movement?

Retreat

What about a unit in square? Same as with unit in line? May it retreat normally (not allowed to move) or does it lose a figure instead and do not retreat?

Artillery reacting to a cavalry charge

If an artillery unit becomes charged by more than one cavalry unit frontally, in the same phase and from the same cavalry unit group at the same time, may it fire against all the cavalry units once and if so, does it have to do a morale test every time or only once?



#2 gioSistino

gioSistino

    Member

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 02 August 2011 - 09:58 PM

Advance after a fire combat

An open order unit can shoot with each base in two different hexes. If both will be vacant, you can choose one of them and advance with either bases.

 

 

 

 

Advance after melee combat

Yes

Movement

Yes

Retreat

It lose a figure and do not retreat.

 

Artillery reacting to a cavalry charge

One moral test, two fire using grapeshot (optional rules), otherwise only one.



#3 Olivier Rosseeuw

Olivier Rosseeuw

    Member

  • Members
  • 36 posts

Posted 03 August 2011 - 05:56 PM

DocSavage said:

Advance after a fire combat

Infantry units in open order may shoot at enemy units in different hexes. How may this unit advance after a combat if different hexes become vacant?

Advance after melee combat

If attacked hex becomes vacant, a unit must advance. But infantry in open order is not disordered after this advance (as after the advance in a fire combat). Is that correct?

Movement

Infantry units in line may not move. Why are they allowed to do so during an advance after combat and a retreat? Is that prohibited only for normal movement?

Retreat

What about a unit in square? Same as with unit in line? May it retreat normally (not allowed to move) or does it lose a figure instead and do not retreat?

Artillery reacting to a cavalry charge

If an artillery unit becomes charged by more than one cavalry unit frontally, in the same phase and from the same cavalry unit group at the same time, may it fire against all the cavalry units once and if so, does it have to do a morale test every time or only once?

Advance after melee combat is mandatory for infantry and cavalry with Attack order only. Optional after a fire combat.

 

 



#4 Meta Baston

Meta Baston

    Member

  • Members
  • 88 posts

Posted 04 August 2011 - 01:53 AM

DocSavage said:
Advance after a fire combat
Infantry units in open order may shoot at enemy units in different hexes. How may this unit advance after a combat if different hexes become vacant?
 

It is not stated in the rules. I would suggest that after a unit in open order has fired and the target hex get empty, player decides if the unit advances (if with attack order) and then becomes disordered or if the unit fires at a second target. If it fires at a second target and the target hex get empty, the player decides if the unit advances (again, if aloud), then becoming disordered.
 

DocSavage said:
Advance after melee combat
If attacked hex becomes vacant, a unit must advance. But infantry in open order is not disordered after this advance (as after the advance in a fire combat). Is that correct?
 

It is disordered. See page 36, paragraph "After mêlée, if an infantry advances into a hex that is not open terrain..."
 

DocSavage said:
Movement
Infantry units in line may not move. Why are they allowed to do so during an advance after combat and a retreat? Is that prohibited only for normal movement?
 

I don't know why, but there is some kind of an answer from the designer somewhere in this forum (in a topic from KlausFritsch, if I remember***). Anyway, rules state that infantry in line cannot move during move action, but they can (must, after mêlée and with attack order) advance after freeing an hex, becoming disordered when they do so.
 

DocSavage said:
Retreat
What about a unit in square? Same as with unit in line? May it retreat normally (not allowed to move) or does it lose a figure instead and do not retreat?
 

It is not in the rules, but, as Sergio said: no retreat, but loss of a figure. (I think that was clarified by the designers in some forum.)
 

DocSavage said:
Artillery reacting to a cavalry charge
If an artillery unit becomes charged by more than one cavalry unit frontally, in the same phase and from the same cavalry unit group at the same time, may it fire against all the cavalry units once and if so, does it have to do a morale test every time or only once?
 

If an artillery is charged by multiple cavalry units, only one cavalry unit is the attacking unit, the other(s) supporting the charge, giving a +2 modifier each (per "Charging with multiple cavalry units", page 38). Although it is not stated clearly, I would say that the artillery reaction fire is only against that attacking cavalry.

 

*** Yep! Right here!



#5 gioSistino

gioSistino

    Member

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 04 August 2011 - 01:11 PM

Greetings

DocSavage said:
Advance after a fire combat
Infantry units in open order may shoot at enemy units in different hexes. How may this unit advance after a combat if different hexes become vacant?
It is not stated in the rules. I would suggest that after a unit in open order has fired and the target hex get empty, player decides if the unit advances (if with attack order) and then becomes disordered or if the unit fires at a second target. If it fires at a second target and the target hex get empty, the player decides if the unit advances (again, if aloud), then becoming disordered.
 

Page 32: "All fire or mêlée combats of units within the same group must be declared at the same time, before rolling any dice. All combat effects inflicted by units of the same group are considered simultaneous."
So a skirmisher capable to fire in two different hex, must declare them before rolling any dice. If either become vacant you can advance as for page 35: [...] may advance into the hex left vacant by the enemy target unit [...].
You cannot split your unit, so you can choose to advance in one of them, not either.

DocSavage said:Advance after melee combat
If attacked hex becomes vacant, a unit must advance. But infantry in open order is not disordered after this advance (as after the advance in a fire combat). Is that correct?
It is disordered. See page 36, paragraph "After mêlée, if an infantry advances into a hex that is not open terrain..."
 

It is disordered if advance in open terrain (changing formation from open order to column) otherwise no.
I apologize for not having differentiated the answer, somehow I understood advance in difficult terrain.

DocSavage said:
Artillery reacting to a cavalry charge
If an artillery unit becomes charged by more than one cavalry unit frontally, in the same phase and from the same cavalry unit group at the same time, may it fire against all the cavalry units once and if so, does it have to do a morale test every time or only once?
If an artillery is charged by multiple cavalry units, only one cavalry unit is the attacking unit, the other(s) supporting the charge, giving a +2 modifier each (per "Charging with multiple cavalry units", page 38). Although it is not stated clearly, I would say that the artillery reaction fire is only against that attacking cavalry.
 

Page 38 Artillery reacting to a cavalry charge: […] may fire against the charging cavalry. In this moment (before the cavalry rolls for its attack, same paragraph), all cavalry units are charging. The artillery can shoot at one of them, or two using the optional canister rule.

Sergio G.



#6 KlausFritsch

KlausFritsch

    Member

  • Members
  • 734 posts

Posted 01 September 2011 - 10:11 PM

Meta Baston said:

 

Retreat
What about a unit in square? Same as with unit in line? May it retreat normally (not allowed to move) or does it lose a figure instead and do not retreat?

It is not in the rules, but, as Sergio said: no retreat, but loss of a figure. (I think that was clarified by the designers in some forum.)


 

That is quite bad news for squares. And it makes combined Infantry/cavalry attacks much more useful.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS