Jump to content



Photo

King's Allies and healing


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 LurchBrick

LurchBrick

    Member

  • Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 29 July 2011 - 02:12 PM

G'day all,

I'd just like to confirm the following use of Healing pool and the Cleric Heal card.

A red cavalry unit has had 1 extra figure added to it due to the use of the specialist card "King's Allies", bringing it up to 4 strength. That unit gets wounded and is down to 2 figures. If I move that unit onto the Healing Pool, does that unit get brought back up to a strength of 4 or it's standard 3? I'd say 4 but just confirming with others how they play it.

Also, with the Heal card, if I roll Lore, does the unit get back it's King Allies strength or it's standard strength? I'm assuming it goes back up to it's King Allies strength (4) as the Heal card states that a unit can't go beyond it's "starting" strength. (emphasis mine).

Can a unit have more than 1 figure added to it with King's Allies? So the above example could have a cavalry unit with 5 figures if I had a Warrior level of 3.

 

Cheers



#2 TheKingOfBlades

TheKingOfBlades

    Member

  • Members
  • 196 posts

Posted 30 July 2011 - 07:05 AM

LurchBrick said:

G'day all,

I'd just like to confirm the following use of Healing pool and the Cleric Heal card.

A red cavalry unit has had 1 extra figure added to it due to the use of the specialist card "King's Allies", bringing it up to 4 strength. That unit gets wounded and is down to 2 figures. If I move that unit onto the Healing Pool, does that unit get brought back up to a strength of 4 or it's standard 3? I'd say 4 but just confirming with others how they play it.

Also, with the Heal card, if I roll Lore, does the unit get back it's King Allies strength or it's standard strength? I'm assuming it goes back up to it's King Allies strength (4) as the Heal card states that a unit can't go beyond it's "starting" strength. (emphasis mine).

Can a unit have more than 1 figure added to it with King's Allies? So the above example could have a cavalry unit with 5 figures if I had a Warrior level of 3.

 

Cheers

I'm not sure what the official answer would be but it seems like the unit affected by king's allies would be able to go back up to 4 models (if you have king's allies in play and healing pool you might want to mark it with some sort of token just so you know it's starting strength is different then other units) at least that's how I would play it.

If you have a level 3 warrior and use king's allies you have to add 2 figures to a single unit. So to answer your question yes you would have a five figure cavalry unit. And you can't split the 2 figures to 2 different units even if you wanted to. The extra figures all go to one unit.

 



#3 LurchBrick

LurchBrick

    Member

  • Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 01 August 2011 - 01:22 AM

Sorry to disagree with you KingOfBlades, but after actually reading the CTA rulebook in full (always a good idea before asking questions ), I see that you are incorrect about figures going to different units.

Pg 11, under the King's Allies heading, states that "This card may be used to add two figures to the same unit, or a single figure to two different units, when played with a Level 3 Warrior in your War Council."



#4 TheKingOfBlades

TheKingOfBlades

    Member

  • Members
  • 196 posts

Posted 01 August 2011 - 06:08 AM

LurchBrick said:

Sorry to disagree with you KingOfBlades, but after actually reading the CTA rulebook in full (always a good idea before asking questions ), I see that you are incorrect about figures going to different units.

Pg 11, under the King's Allies heading, states that "This card may be used to add two figures to the same unit, or a single figure to two different units, when played with a Level 3 Warrior in your War Council."

haha yeah I just read that right now and was coming to fix what I said. When I originally responded to the question I just read the card. But now I read the rulebook and the book does say you can give two different units 1 figure each. My fault. I'll make sure to read the card and the rules before responding to questions from now on.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS