Jump to content



Photo

ASoS - House cards vs Holding cells


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Zapper

Zapper

    Member

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 28 July 2011 - 11:21 AM

If a leader is in a holding cell, can be played in a battle the prisoned leader house card? 

I think that the rule book says yes, but it makes no sense to me. Correct me if i am wrong. Thanks.



#2 Old Dwarf

Old Dwarf

    Member

  • Members
  • 449 posts

Posted 30 July 2011 - 11:58 PM

Yes-the House Card role in Combat always seemed odd to me,like some of the characters  represented were not Milirary commanders.I  decided that the name on the Card was just fluff & that the Card just represented the Battle Plan,quality of the troops involved & such.

I play happier now.

 

OD


A Dwarf in Winter


#3 Zapper

Zapper

    Member

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 01 August 2011 - 08:57 AM

But when your leader is executed, the leader token and the house card corresponding to that leader are permanently removed from the game. So, there is a connection between the leader and the house card corresponding to him. Analogically, if the leader token is in the holding cell, you should not use the house card representing that leader. But this statement is not in the rule book.



#4 Rubinon

Rubinon

    Member

  • Members
  • 124 posts

Posted 11 August 2011 - 03:55 AM

Maybe the troops are making a heroic effort to free this leader, which leads to the results seen on the leader card? (Just trying to rationalize it...)



#5 Kouteki

Kouteki

    Member

  • Members
  • 38 posts

Posted 11 September 2011 - 07:18 AM

Imagine it as influence that a leader has over his bannermen. While a leader is captured his bannermen press on to rescue their liege, but if he is murdered all hope is lost.

But lore (and reason) aside, capturing a leader is already a great blow to the loser - losing one of the most powerful leader cards in the process would be too much (seeing how leaders are usually linked to strongest cards).

I.E. you can knock down Greyjoy military might by 3 just by capturing Balon (STR2 leader when activated, +1 ASOS House card (Balon is STR4, Dagmar Cleftjaw being the next best thing with STR3))






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS