Jump to content



Photo

some questions...


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 thordred

thordred

    Member

  • Members
  • 34 posts

Posted 22 July 2011 - 06:13 AM

1. The card, Take Cover: Place in your play area.  1x/turn, when one of your fresh units is attacked, you may place an activation token on this card to give the unit 2 additional cover for this attack.

The question is, if during your turn, you move a unit and your opponent opens fire on you (op fire) in the middle of your movement, can you use this card since you haven't finished your movement yet?

 

2. Take a look on p.19.

If a unit is targeted by op fire using normal attack and gets hit, can it still finish its movement or is the unit fatigued.  The words under exception seems to contradict the previous statement.



#2 champlain007

champlain007

    Member

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 22 July 2011 - 06:47 AM

hi, for me the anser for your first question is no because your unit is not fresh... but i m not sure about that . as long as every player is ok with the rule. But for your second question it s clear , on page 19 , the unit is fatigue and must stop is mouvement where the attack appen..  sorry for the bad english !!



#3 thordred

thordred

    Member

  • Members
  • 34 posts

Posted 22 July 2011 - 08:41 AM

for question 2, I forgot to mention that the attack is a normal attack not a suppressive attack.  I understand suppressive attacks stops movement but the rules seem to contradict itself when dealing with normal attacks.



#4 champlain007

champlain007

    Member

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 22 July 2011 - 09:16 AM

The rules says that if the squad is dammage by a normal attack she will be fatigue.. I know it seem strong for unit in op fire , but it does not append a lot . And , maybe you can fire first and have the chance to pin this unit . Unit in op fire that become pin or disord are immeditely fatigue. I wish it could help you.



#5 Aussie_Digger

Aussie_Digger

    Member

  • Members
  • 323 posts

Posted 22 July 2011 - 03:13 PM

thordred said:

1. The card, Take Cover: Place in your play area.  1x/turn, when one of your fresh units is attacked, you may place an activation token on this card to give the unit 2 additional cover for this attack.

The question is, if during your turn, you move a unit and your opponent opens fire on you (op fire) in the middle of your movement, can you use this card since you haven't finished your movement yet?

 

I would say that you can use the card, as if you read under the langue of ToI on page 8,

Fatigued: a unit tha has finished its activation and has been assigned an activation token with the fatigued side up.

Fresh: a unit that has been assigned no activation token (ie is not fatigued or in op fire mode)

As the unit is being targeted by op fire, it hasnt finished its movement therefor it is not concidered fatigued and meets the requirements of being fresh.

 

thordred said:

2. Take a look on p.19.

If a unit is targeted by op fire using normal attack and gets hit, can it still finish its movement or is the unit fatigued.  The words under exception seems to contradict the previous statement.

If the unit is targeted by a normal attack and takes hits and can still move. If you look under the exceptions on page 19:

If the attack scores no hits, or if a squad takes casualties as the result of a normal attack, the active unit may continue moving.

Supressive fire stops your squads if its scores hits because it is representing a hail of fire coming in at your men, forcing them to take cover (not well aimed shots)

Where normal attack is representing carefully aimed shots, intending to kill (not as much fire coming in as the shots need to be well aimed, therefor your troops are not as overwhelmed by the amount of fire)



#6 Hefsgaard

Hefsgaard

    Member

  • Members
  • 316 posts

Posted 22 July 2011 - 08:12 PM

Only light vehicles are fatigued when they take damage from OP-fire during movement.



#7 champlain007

champlain007

    Member

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 23 July 2011 - 12:31 AM

Hi  , I read again and again, on page 32 they don t talk about normal attack, but on page 19 it s really clear that normal attack on op fire can pin or disord.... I don t know if there are a difference between the french and english rules (ho yeah i m french canadian .. i have the french version) maybe there is a REAL version of the rules somewere.  Tanks for your help guys.



#8 Hefsgaard

Hefsgaard

    Member

  • Members
  • 316 posts

Posted 23 July 2011 - 12:31 PM

Squads do not take damage, they take Casualties.

Vehicles take damage.



#9 Aussie_Digger

Aussie_Digger

    Member

  • Members
  • 323 posts

Posted 23 July 2011 - 03:57 PM

The english rules make it clear that:

Squads being attacked by a normal attack can still move (even if they take casualties)

Squads that are attacked by supressive attack become fatigued if there were succesful roles after defence dice, (ie. become pinned or disrupted)

Light vehicles that take damage (hit/s) become fatigued

Heavy vehicles that take hits (becoming lightly damaged may still contuine moving)

Vehicles can not be targeted with supressive fire ( exception is the M10 take destoyer in the normandy expasnion, it has the open top trait, in this case treat the same as per the squad example with supressive fire)



#10 champlain007

champlain007

    Member

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 24 July 2011 - 02:23 AM

thank you !! the translation could be a little better ... its the life!

 






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS