Hello. A situation came up in one of our CE games today when a deal was quashed and Tick-Tock was in game (played by yours truly).
I wanted to remove a token from my sheet since the Tick-Tock's text - "each time [...] a successful deal is made between any two players" - seems to imply that his power is used right as the deals is made, therefore taking precedence to Quash which can only be used "after a succesful deal was made" and only retroactively affects the deal itself (not effects deriving from it), but all other members voted against me, prefering a more general interpretation of the whole process and saying that if the deal didn't ultimately hold out then it shouldn't count for Tick-Tock either.
While I don't necessarily mind their interpretation, I tend to favor mine because the timing sounds better and because it seems more balanced - it's hard enough to get rid of those tokens as it is (particularly with 3 players), Tick-Tock doesn't need another counter - and I was thinking wether or not there's an official ruling on the chronology of this particular scenario. This question is also directed to more experienced players - in your games, does Tick-Tock's token removal takes precedence to Quash, or not?