Jump to content



Photo

Creuss' Dimensional Splicer + Direct Hit?


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Mynnotaur

Mynnotaur

    Member

  • Members
  • 18 posts

Posted 21 June 2011 - 05:57 AM

The game we played earlier (first actaul game and it took 4 players to play 7 hours). I attacked the Ghosts of Creuss player. He had the Dimensional Splicer Racial Tech. He hits me with that racial tech, damages my flagship, then immediately plays Direct Hit to destroy my flagship.

 

That is the correct way to play that, right? He COULD use the Dimensional Splicer to damage my flagship, then play the Direct Hit AC to destroy it?

 

Also, what about his flagship? There was no wormhole in the system, other than his flagship. Does that count as a Wormhole for the purpose of the Dimensional Splicer tech?

 

Thanks

 

Chris



#2 Hugesinker

Hugesinker

    Member

  • Members
  • 110 posts

Posted 21 June 2011 - 09:46 AM

I think the answer to all your questions is 'yes'.  Those make for some strong combinations.



#3 Mighty Maltim

Mighty Maltim

    Member

  • Members
  • 110 posts

Posted 22 June 2011 - 06:58 AM

 A hit is a hit after all. I don't believe Direct Hit specifies WHERE that hit needs to come from, it just needs to occur.

And a wormhole is a wormhole. Hil Colish always has a wormhole so I would say that's perfectly valid.



#4 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,630 posts

Posted 22 June 2011 - 03:29 PM

Mighty Maltim said:

 

 A hit is a hit after all. I don't believe Direct Hit specifies WHERE that hit needs to come from, it just needs to occur.

And a wormhole is a wormhole. Hil Colish always has a wormhole so I would say that's perfectly valid.

 

 

I concur with this assessment.  As I understand the Creuss flagship's ability, they basically have a D-wormhole with the ship whenever they want it, and don't when they don't.  Which makes sense - if their ship has the ability to generate a wormhole, it follows that they would have control over how the wormhole is generated.



#5 solitear

solitear

    Member

  • Members
  • 58 posts

Posted 23 June 2011 - 02:41 AM

 I believe the creuss flagship is worded using the word 'may'  you may consider the space containing the ship to have a D wormhole..that implies that you may not as well. I would  think that the ghost player could consider the wormhole to not exist at anytime that is convenient.

 

I could be wrong about the wording but I seem to distinctly remember the word 'may'. 



#6 ryolacap

ryolacap

    Member

  • Members
  • 36 posts

Posted 24 June 2011 - 12:18 AM

The only thing I can say to that is Ouch!

 

On a side note the Flag says as 'if' it had a wormhole, why didnt they simply say something like "You May generate a D wormhole" Maybe its not a real wormhole.  I swear the wording in his new expansion is horrible.   The wording is not up to par with the rest of the game or its not a real wormhole.

 The Tech say 'containing a wormhole'  hmmm just because you treat the system 'as if' it had a wormhole doesn't mean it actualy has one.

I'm am not sure if it is legal,  but I would say it probably is.

 



#7 Mighty Maltim

Mighty Maltim

    Member

  • Members
  • 110 posts

Posted 26 June 2011 - 11:00 AM

ryolacap said:

 The Tech say 'containing a wormhole'  hmmm just because you treat the system 'as if' it had a wormhole doesn't mean it actualy has one.

 

Hil Colish says YOU may treat the system as if it had a wormhole. The way I'm reading this, I'm imagining a machine on board the ship that generates wormholes. The crew controls the machine, so you decide when the wormhole is there or not. The crew gets a signal from their home planet that there are inbound reinforcements for the fleet, so they open the portal and let them through. By the same note, if an enemy engages the fleet in combat, they fire up the wormhole generator as well as the dimensional splicer. Therefore, you and you alone can gain any benefits from tech (such as gravity drive) or play any action cards that require a wormhole in that system.



#8 ryolacap

ryolacap

    Member

  • Members
  • 36 posts

Posted 28 June 2011 - 01:36 AM

Right, not quite the point I was trying to make.  But I have already pretty much agreed this works.  Unless otherwise stated in the FAQ.  In doing so makes all flag ship get the benifits of Techs and Racials pertaing to the Flag ship's specials. ie. the Xxcha Flag

 

'As if' defined

'as if' also 'as though' - Idiom
like something was actually so - "The pain was so bad, he felt as if a knife were sticking between his shoulders."

So in the definition the "knife" isnt really between his shoulders.  Just like the system would not have a wormhole.  But I assume they did not mean it this way, so until the FAQ comes out, I lean towards it's legal



#9 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,630 posts

Posted 02 July 2011 - 10:15 AM

ryolacap said:

'As if' defined

'as if' also 'as though' - Idiom
like something was actually so - "The pain was so bad, he felt as if a knife were sticking between his shoulders."

So in the definition the "knife" isnt really between his shoulders.

There isn't really a knife between his shoulders, but it feels as though there is.  He is restricted in movement and concentration in all respects AS IF a knife were really there.  He feels a pain akin to what he imagines a knife would feel like AS IF it were really there.

When playing Twilight Imperium with this race's flagship, there isn't really a wormhole in the system with it.  That is to say, there is not actually a wormhole printed on the tile. However, for all rules purposes, the Creuss player may choose to behave AS IF there is a wormhole.  Even though there really isn't one.

This is what the term "as if" means in the English language. This means the above suggestions are legal.  If FFG publishes a statement to the contrary, that will be an errata, as it will be limiting or changing the rules from what they currently mean, per the definitions of relevant English words.



#10 solitear

solitear

    Member

  • Members
  • 58 posts

Posted 03 July 2011 - 10:31 AM

 yes and there isn't really a wormhole there but the gravity drive technology works 'as if' a wormhole existed......if the gravity drive didn't work it would be 'as if' a wormhole wasn't there......so therefore gravity drive and other effects all must work 'as if' a wormhole existed if the creuss player so chooses.

 

any other option does not treat the space 'as if' it had a wormhole...its not important if the wormhole is actually there(that's just philosophical). Whats important is that everything act 'as if' it was there.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS