Jump to content



Photo

Random rules question and advice


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Raijing

Raijing

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 06 June 2011 - 12:00 AM

 Me and my group of friends have played at least 30 games if not more of BSG in the past few months and love it, but there seem to be a few issues that come up that we as a group are not completely aware of how they should be played. The set up we use most of the time are all expansions using ion Nebula for Victory, Allys/Final Five/Personal Goals/Cylon Fleet/Pegasus/Cylon Leaders(if chosen)/Sympathetic Cylon(if no leader, we random Sleeper Agents) So pretty much everything minus New Caprica.I would appreciate any advice on how your plays these situations, or if there is something in the rules, or FAQ we maybe overlooked.

If Sharon reveals as a Cylon before the sleeper phase what happens to her extra loyalty card that is still in the deck? I know if she is executed pre-sleeper the extra card is still drawn, but does the loyalty deck end up with 2 extra cards instead of one for the rest of the game in this situation?

Do abilities that state "do in your action step" work when not on your own turn? I know this is explained for Movement in the rulebook but nothing for Action related skills. example Lee Adam uses Alert Viper Pilot, and during his action activates his viper to (Move/Escort/Attack), or Kat using her Hotshot in FTL with a executive order.

If a player with a personal goal is executed is anything related to the goal triggered? It seems like it just discarded with no consequence in the rules, but sometimes it feels like a loophole to take a morale loss if will save you the game otherwise.

Are revealed Cylons immune to other effects that make them discard cards other then from a crisis? such as with a revealed Final Five from a execution?

Does a Human/and or Cylon player who is executed with a Trauma Token via a effect from a ally card (making them draw trauma) put one of their own Trauma on the next Ally card? or in the case of a human since they discard all of their trauma, and then draw three new ones put one of those new tokens on the next ally or is a token from the pile randomly added to the Ally?

How many cards does the Sympathetic Cylon draw while not Infiltrating, or on the Resurrection Ship? I keep thinkings its one, but can't seem to find the passage on the rulebook for this :[

Are you allowed to activate a card/ability/choice if you do not meet the full/or partial requirements for it? example A crisis with a choice says A) "xyz" B) current player discards 4 cards. Are you allowed to choose option B if you do not have 4 cards to discard? what if I have 2, or zero cards? What if it's 2 players that discard cards, and neither player has any? or some combination enough/ not enough to meet the choices requirements? Another example would be a Quorum Card that does "xyz" and then discard 2 cards am I allowed to play this with no cards to discard?

This is more of a advise question then rules, but how does everyone treat secrecy in there games? We used to be more open on certain things not to the point of saying what we had, but more strong hinting at sort of style, but we switched to the more non discript style of the FAQ and most humans we play with come off shady as frak and I've come to notice cylons winning a higher percentage of our games with the rate of Civ ships on the game board and the odd number of our pilots becoming Cylons, the last push for victory is always down th the wire with at minimum 2 resources at 2 or less at the end of the game with everyone hoping someone did'nt forget a personal goal. I guess this is the excitement of the game, but I just find is semi difficult to weed out smart cylon players who stay hidden all game helping just enough 99% of the time, and know how to count the destiny deck (even when some humans will spike skill checks to throw them off)



#2 James McMurray

James McMurray

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,228 posts

Posted 06 June 2011 - 05:13 AM

If Sharon reveals as a Cylon before the sleeper phase what happens to her extra loyalty card that is still in the deck? I know if she is executed pre-sleeper the extra card is still drawn, but does the loyalty deck end up with 2 extra cards instead of one for the rest of the game in this situation?

AFAIK there's been no errata, so the deck ends up heavier.

 

Do abilities that state "do in your action step" work when not on your own turn? I know this is explained for Movement in the rulebook but nothing for Action related skills. example Lee Adam uses Alert Viper Pilot, and during his action activates his viper to (Move/Escort/Attack), or Kat using her Hotshot in FTL with a executive order.

If something specifies your action step, it has to be done on your turn. If it just says Action it can be done any time you have an action. I can't get to BGG to look at the characters, so can't speak to your specific examples.

 

If a player with a personal goal is executed is anything related to the goal triggered? It seems like it just discarded with no consequence in the rules, but sometimes it feels like a loophole to take a morale loss if will save you the game otherwise.

There are many loopholes like that with execution. For instance, if your only pilot reveals in the middle of a nasty fight, you can have Cali shoot someone so that they come back as a pilot. They're all legal, albeit not very thematic.

 

Are revealed Cylons immune to other effects that make them discard cards other then from a crisis? such as with a revealed Final Five from a execution?

No.

Does a Human/and or Cylon player who is executed with a Trauma Token via a effect from a ally card (making them draw trauma) put one of their own Trauma on the next Ally card? or in the case of a human since they discard all of their trauma, and then draw three new ones put one of those new tokens on the next ally or is a token from the pile randomly added to the Ally?

Do every step in order. So you first resolve the disaster token fully, then get a new ally, then move on to the placing of the trauma token. Since you now have tokens, one of them goes on the ally.

 

How many cards does the Sympathetic Cylon draw while not Infiltrating, or on the Resurrection Ship? I keep thinkings its one, but can't seem to find the passage on the rulebook for this :[

The same as any other cylon.

 

Are you allowed to activate a card/ability/choice if you do not meet the full/or partial requirements for it? example A crisis with a choice says A) "xyz" B) current player discards 4 cards. Are you allowed to choose option B if you do not have 4 cards to discard? what if I have 2, or zero cards? What if it's 2 players that discard cards, and neither player has any? or some combination enough/ not enough to meet the choices requirements? Another example would be a Quorum Card that does "xyz" and then discard 2 cards am I allowed to play this with no cards to discard?

Yes, that's legal.

 

This is more of a advise question then rules, but how does everyone treat secrecy in there games? We used to be more open on certain things not to the point of saying what we had, but more strong hinting at sort of style, but we switched to the more non discript style of the FAQ and most humans we play with come off shady as frak and I've come to notice cylons winning a higher percentage of our games with the rate of Civ ships on the game board and the odd number of our pilots becoming Cylons, the last push for victory is always down th the wire with at minimum 2 resources at 2 or less at the end of the game with everyone hoping someone did'nt forget a personal goal. I guess this is the excitement of the game, but I just find is semi difficult to weed out smart cylon players who stay hidden all game helping just enough 99% of the time, and know how to count the destiny deck (even when some humans will spike skill checks to throw them off)

We play pretty close to the FAQ, using phrases like "a little" or "a lot."



#3 umboito

umboito

    Member

  • Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 06 June 2011 - 12:47 PM

 For Sharon, you still deal her loyalty cards, then she gives them to a player of her choice at the Sleeper phase. In doing this you can sow further dissent among the remaining humans. If all Cylons are revealed before the sleeper phase my group just doesn't deal loyalty cards.



#4 Raijing

Raijing

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 12 June 2011 - 10:56 AM

 Thanks for the advice, got another question that I forgot to add.

If someone is playing as Helo. During there "Stranded" phase does that player receive skill cards/ and or a Crisis?

 

I think I still need a bit of clarification for this:

Do abilities that state "do in your action step" work when not on your own turn? I know this is explained for Movement in the rulebook but nothing for Action related skills. example Lee Adam uses Alert Viper Pilot, and during his action activates his viper to (Move/Escort/Attack), or Kat using her Hotshot in FTL with a executive order.

If something specifies your action step, it has to be done on your turn. If it just says Action it can be done any time you have an action. I can't get to BGG to look at the characters, so can't speak to your specific examples.

 

In the Core Game rule book it says a person Piloting a Viper during there action step may choose to activate there viper (Move/Attack/Escort). does that mean you cannot "XO" a Pilot to escort a civ ship? This would be a big deal in terms of difficulty for humans playing with Ion Nebula.

 



#5 antherem

antherem

    Member

  • Members
  • 71 posts

Posted 15 June 2011 - 05:02 AM

Raijing said:

 Thanks for the advice, got another question that I forgot to add.

If someone is playing as Helo. During there "Stranded" phase does that player receive skill cards/ and or a Crisis?

 

I think I still need a bit of clarification for this:

Do abilities that state "do in your action step" work when not on your own turn? I know this is explained for Movement in the rulebook but nothing for Action related skills. example Lee Adam uses Alert Viper Pilot, and during his action activates his viper to (Move/Escort/Attack), or Kat using her Hotshot in FTL with a executive order.

If something specifies your action step, it has to be done on your turn. If it just says Action it can be done any time you have an action. I can't get to BGG to look at the characters, so can't speak to your specific examples.

 

In the Core Game rule book it says a person Piloting a Viper during there action step may choose to activate there viper (Move/Attack/Escort). does that mean you cannot "XO" a Pilot to escort a civ ship? This would be a big deal in terms of difficulty for humans playing with Ion Nebula.

 

Helo still gets skill cards and a crisis on his first turn, but has no movement or action steps.

If you get XO'd you have either a move and an action, or two actions, but it remains the current player's turn.  The confusion here is coming from the fact that the list of legal actions is found in the core rulebook under the "Action Step" heading, but it does not mean "these can only be done during your Action Step", but "During your action step, you have an action, it can be any one of these things."  Obviously Lee can do something in his viper with his free action after launching with Alert Viper Pilot, for instance.  If you must have a ruling on this there's a rules question link at the bottom of every page.

Abilities that work "during your turn" (Helo's reroll, Starbuck's bonus space action) do NOT work when you are XO'd, because it is not your turn.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS