Jump to content



Photo

Unoffical FAQ (and suggested answers) thread....


  • Please log in to reply
664 replies to this topic

#1 pumpkin

pumpkin

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,112 posts

Posted 22 April 2011 - 11:29 AM

This thread contains the FAQ and suggested answers from the forum. As FFG provide official FAQ updates, this thread will be updated with official answers where the unofficial answer is different from the official one.
Updated following 1.2. FAQ
Split into Game Phases and Core and expansions. Kept the original numbering incase any other web sources refer to them.
General Rule Questions
61. When, exactly, can I play actions?
An important section of the rule book is page 30 of the Rule Book, concerning the flow chart.
page 30 of the Rule Book.

"Green – Any player can take actions generally, or
between the game steps stated in the rules."
This supercedes other sections of the rule book, which may only refer to allowing actions at the end of a rule step; providing that step is green, you may play actions during as well as at the end of that step.

Hero text
8. How does Thalin's ability interact with cards with only 1 hit point that have a when revealed action or surge key word? Is the text ignored because Thalin kills it as soon as it revealed or do the surge or when revealed action still occur

Thalin's ability resolves before any Keyword or when revealed effects.

12. How does Dunhere's ability work?

Dunhere can attack enemies in the staging area during the phase when other heroes attack (enemies engaged). Dunhere's +1 only works when he attacks an enemy in staging and only when attacking alone, the two are mutually inclusive. Dunhere's attack rating is compared against the enemies’ defence rating as normal. Dunhere' does not deal direct damage.

20. How does Legolas' ability or the Misty Mountain Goblin card work if there is an active location?

The active location works as a buffer when adding progress tokens, as described in the rulebook so progress tokens are added to the active location first, unless a card effect specifically states that it bypasses any active location. However, when a card refers to removing progress tokens from the quest (card), this is always from the main quest card, never from an active location.

21. Can you have cards in your player deck from a sphere that doesn't match the sphere of one of your heroes?

There is nothing in the rules that directly disallows this, although the player will be required to play specific card combos to be able to play those cards

36. Can a character such as Legolas or dunhere, who can attack enemies with which they are not engaged attack those enemies more than once per round using cards such as Unexpected Courage?

Players can only declare one attack against an enemy whether they are engaged with them, or whether the attack is possible through keywords such as ranged. However, if through a card effect, a second attack is somehow possible with that character, then that attack can occur against an enemy already attacked this round.
45. Does Frodo's Response allow him to survive against the Muck Adder's forced effect?
Yes. As Frodo cancels the damage and turns it into threat, the Muck Adders forced effect does not occur.
56. When using Eleanor's ability, does the when revealed effect of the replacement card trigger?
Yes, the replacement card is still revealed so any card text triggers as normal.
60. If Eleanor cancels a card's when revealed effect and the card also has keywords such as Doomed or Surge, what happens?
Eleanor's ability only cancels the when revealed effect, any other keywords on the card trigger as normal. If a Surge or Doomed effect would occur as part of the when revealed condition and that condition is cancelled, Surge and/or Doomed does not occur.
General Card text - Core
2. How does the Forced action on the Dol Guldur beastmaster work? When is the extra shadow card applied, and as it uses the words "After xxx attacks" (in the same way that Chieftain Ufthak has) how does the Chieftain's forced action work in comparison?

The DGB card is interpreted as having the word When rather than After. This means that DGB is dealt two shadow cards. Chieftain Ufthak's ability resovles after step 4 of combat so has an initial combat strength of 3 in the first round in which he engages a player, 5 in the second round and so on.

6. Can you use Protector or Lorien to discard multiple cards to obtain > 1 defence or willpower bonus per round/phase?

Yes.

10. When encounter cards come into play outside of the quest phase what parts of the card are still relevant? The description of surge/doomed states this only applies during staging step of quest phase, so is that keyword ignored? How about cards such as Pursued by Shadow, as outside of the quest phase NO hero is considered committed to a quest (although they may still be exhausted from previously committing to the quest), so is the when revealed affect applied to all heroes or is it ignored completely?

Surge, Doomed and Guarded resolve any time a card with those keywords is placed in the staging area, even during set-up. Other card effects resolve as intended, so in the case of pursued by shadow the effect applies as if no characters were committed to the quest.

11. Are attachments considered their own card for purposes of exhausting (such as "Steward of Gondor") or does the hero they are attached to need to be exhausted to use them? The card says "Exhaust Steward of Gondor" which makes me believe it is just the card, and you can use it every turn to get a bonus 2 resources.

Yes only the card is exhausted, not the hero.

24. How does Beorn's ability work with sneak attack?

Both cards have exactly the same trigger condition and therefore you can choose in which order to apply the text. This means you can return him to your hand via sneak attack ruling rather than to the deck by Beorn's own ruling, if you prefer. Whenever there is a timing conflict such as this, the first player always decides which card trigger is resolved first.

28. Does the horn of Gondor ability work for all participating players´ characters or only the player of the card?

The horn's ability applies to all participating players characters

33. Do the Orc Guards generated by the effects of the Tower Gate location and Out of the Dungeons quest have the Orc Trait?

No, facedown cards do not have traits unless obtained by a specific card effect.

35. Because of the Dungeon Jailer I need to place an Objective back into the deck,

1) What happens to the Encounter card attached / guarding it?

2) What do I do with it once the Objective card is later revealed from the deck?

1. . The objective goes into the deck, the card gurading it remains in the staging area.

2. Follow the instructions on P. 24 of the rule book. The objective card is placed in the staging area and the next Encounter card is turned to guard the objective due to the guarded keyword.

37. (Especially for the guys at the excellent CardBoardoftheRings!) The Banks of the Anduin Forced effect says to return the card to the top of the encounter pile when TBotA leaves play. Does this include when the card is turned as a shadow card?

Only a cards shadow effect (text below the Shadow Icon on the card) is resolved when the card is revealed as a shadow card, all other text is ignored. Therefore TBotA will go to the discard pile rather than the top of the encounter deck after being revealed as a shadow card.

38. The text on the Nazgul card states that "after the shadow effect resolves" (not shadow card), the engaged player removes 1 character. What does this mean exactly if the encounter card dealt as a shadow card has no shadow effect?

Since the card states shadow effect, if the nazgul receives a shadow card with no effect, his forced ability does not activate (no effect to resolve).

39. In regard to the final quest in the core set,
A. What does it mean when it says players as a group can play only one ally per round?

Only one ally can be played, TOTAL, per turn by all players combined.

B. When you hold the torch, do you have to raise your threat by 2 or 1+2 (total 3) at the end of the round?

The torch says to increase by 2, and it is an entirely separate effect from the normal increase at turn end, so that would be 3 total.

C. As guarded means you stick one card from the encounter deck to the objective, and until it is defeated you can't claim it. Can you claim it in every phase or subphase as an action? Can you engage the guarding enemy as normal?

The attached cards are treated as they normally would be. Enemies engage, attack and can be attacked, locations can be traveled to and explored, treachery cards affect play as usual. When an objective is free from cards it can be claimed as stated on the card itself (presently, all available objectives are claimed as actions).

D. Do you deal shadow cards to the orcs of the last stage (1/1 with one HP)?

The orc guards are "treated as enemies" and so get shadow cards like any other enemy.

43. With Tower Gate, the card you take from the top of you deck to be used as an Orc, what happens to the "orc" after you defeat it?

Defeated enemies get put in the discard pile. Since you own the card it gets placed in your discard pile.
55. Can Gandalf be used with Stand and Fight?
No, Stand and Fight can be used to bring back an ally belonging to any Sphere, but as a Neutral card, Gandalf doesn't belong to any of the 4 spheres.
57. During the set up of Dol Guldur, do the when revealed effects of cards trigger when used to guard the objectives?
No, those cards are not revealed, they are only attached. Therefore the When Revealed effects of cards used to guard objectives during the set-up of that scenario are not triggered.

General card text - Shadows Of Mirkwood
50. Do cards that grant an extra resource icon grant extra resource tokens of that icon type, or make the existing tokens of that hero more flexible?
Cards that add a resource icon such as Song of Wisdom or Song of Kings, only grant an extra icon meaning any resource tokens the hero has now or in the future are more flexible and usable for cards of any icon the Hero has. The do not grant the hero any additional resources unless it is specifically stated in the card effects.
52. How does Radagast's card text work?
1) Radagast's resources can be used to pay for the total cost of any creature ally regardless of sphere, or can be used in combination with the resources of a hero or heroes that match the sphere of the ally, to pay for the total cost
2) Radagast will not override the resource match necessary for playing Creature cards with a cost of 0, as his ability would not be used

Planning Phase - Core

26. Can you place an attachment on another players hero? Does the hero need to be of the same sphere as the attachment?

Any character that meets the requirements of the attachment can receive the attachment. Unless specifically stated as a requirement on the card, you can play attachments on any hero (or character if the attachment allows), including another players' and/or one that is a different sphere to which the attachment belongs

31. Can I attach two of the same attachment to the same character? Two Citadel plates or Two Protector of Loriens?

The only restriction currently with attachments is that a single character is restricted to a limit of 2 attachments with the keyword "Restricted". This allows you two place 2 citadel plates etc onto the same character (if it helps picture this as being a single suit of better quality armour, rather than 2 separate suits). Note however, that each attachment is treated separately, so if there is a cost to activate the card (as is the case with Protector of Lorien), that cost must be paid for each card individually.

42. If I play Steward of Gondor, can I immediately exhaust it to gain additional resource and then spend those resource immediately to play additional Allies or attachments etc?

The entire planning phase is coloured green in the process flow, which means actions can be taken freely during that stage, so yes SoG can be played and then immediately exhausted for additional resource to spend.
62. When playing attachments that have requirements (such as being played on a character of a certain sphere), when are those requirements checked?
The requirements are only checked when attaching, once the attachment has been played and attached, it is not neccessary to discard the attachment if the requirements are no longer met on subsequent rounds.

Planning Phase - Shadows of Mirkwood
47. If Song of Wisdom is played then Burning Brand is played an the same hero, but that hero later loses the Song of Wisdom attachment do they also lose Burning Brand?
There is nothing in the rules to support the idea that the Burning Brand is lost. The requirement for Burning Brand to be attached to a lore hero is only at the time of attachment.

Quest Phase - Core

1. If Ungoliant's Spawn has already been defeated, or is already in play when Don't Leave the Path Enter play, what happens?
We actually have an official answer to this, but i have just added it for completeness, the answer is that if it is already defeated it must be defeated again, but if it is already in play, this does count as it being found and therefore will only need to be defeated once (not twice).
3. If a location in the staging area has enough progress tokens on it (from the Northern tracker for instance), is it immediately removed from play, or does it still have to be made an active location, before it is removed?
It is removed from play as soon as it has enough tokens on it.

5. When exhausting a character to a quest, do i exhaust a character and then use the Response relating to that character then exhaust the next and so on, or do i exhaust all simultaneously and then apply their responses in any order i want? (Important when using the Aragorn/Theodred combo). How about Old Forest Road and Strength of Will? Can the players travel to OFR, then use SoW, then use the response on OFR to ready the character that was just exhausted to meet SoW, or do the responses on a location take precendence and have to be taken first?

Responses can be used in any order, which solves the OFR vs SoW problem, and a player's heroes committing to the quest is done simultaneously and separately to completing Responses, so all characters can be exhausted simultaneously, allowing Theodred's power to be used on Aragorn and then for Aragorn to ready using the resource he just obtained from Theodred. Note though, that one player commits characters to the quest and plays responses then the next player and so on, this means if the first player had the hero Theodred and commits him to the quest, Theodred's response could not be used to give a resource to a hero of another player as another players heros will not yet have committed to the quest.

13. One of the Spirit ally cards (Northern Tracker) allows him to place a single progress token on every location in the staging area when he commits to a quest. Is this done *before* new cards are drawn and you compare Willpower vs. Corruption?

Yes. Northern Tracker's ability is a response so this is done in response to the game occurrence (commiting to a quest) and before any other game occurences occur (such as pulling a new staging card).

14. When dealing cards into the staging area during the questing phase, do i deal 1 card per player, or 1 card per player that has a hero questing this round?

1 card per player.

30. Henamarth Riversong and Glorfindel are questing. In the adventure phase I draw "The Necromancer's Reach" and Riversong dies cause of that. Does his Willpower count towards the questing willpower?
The Willpower vs. threat calculation is completed during step 3 of the Questing phase, only characters still alive and considered questing during that stage have their willpower counted. As Riversong was destroyed during an earlier step, when the new encounter card is added to the staging area, his willpower is NOT counted during stage 3 of the questing phase.

32. If there is an active location (with or without tokens) and despair has just revealed, what do you do?

The Despair card specifically states removing tokens from the quest card and therefore, as clarified in question 20, the tokens are removed from the main quest card, not the active location.

34. If the first card attached to an objective is a location with "surge" keyword, I reveal another card from the encounter deck but where do I place this new "surged" card? Do I attach it to the objective, together with the first encounter card - and both of them are protecting the same objective card - or do I place it separately in the staging area?

Resolve any keywords as they occur. So you would attach the encounter with Surge to the Objective, then draw an additional card. Just the first card counts as guarding the Objective.

If you draw another Surge, you resolve it as though you would any other Surge - by drawing an additional card.

44. If I do not quest with any characters do I skip the quest phase? (An old one but I've seen it asked enough times by new players so I've added it to the FAQ)

Even if you do not commit anyone to the quest, the quest phase still occurs, adding additional cards to the staging area and comparing willpower (of 0) against current threat. It is generally a good idea to quest with at least some characters each turn.
48. If Lorien Guide is played and there is no active location, can the progress token be placed on the current quest?
No, Lorien Guide specifically states active location and therefore if there is no active location no progress token is placed at all

51. When can cards be played during questing? The rulebook P.14 states that cards can be played at the end of each step, where the game flows at the back of the rule book states card canbe played generally during green steps
The games flows are accurate. Cards can be played at any point during a green step in the game flows. The statement on P.14 is referring specifically to red steps when actions can only be played at the end of the step
58. Is there an upper limit for the number of progress tokens that can be placed on a quest card, for when completing that card has specific requirements such as Kill a specific enemy, in addition to a number of progress tokens?
There is no upper limit, and excess progress tokens can therefore be used as a buffer against cards such as Misty mountain Goblins, until such time as the quest card can be completed.
Quest Phase - The Hunt for Gollum
59. Does the forced condition on the 1st quest card in the Hunt for Gollum still trigger on the round when that phase of the quest is completed.
The Forced condition is triggered upon questing successfully. The definition of questing successfully is having total willpower > staging area threat, and is a seperate step to applying progress tokens to active locations/quest cards. Therefore as soon as the players have quested successfully the forced condition should trigger, then total progress tokens are calculated and placed on the quest card, then resolving that phase of the quest if enough are placed.
Quest Phase - Conflict at the Carrock
54. How do you defeat the second quest card as there are no specific victory conditions?
The entire quest is completed as soon as all Trolls in play are defeated and the 2nd quest card has at least 1 progress token on it
Travel Phase - Core
23. The Brown Lands card says that after player travel place 1 travel token on it, this would mean that the location would cancel itself?

This is correct. The main issue with the Brown Lands is it excessive threat (5), which must be dealt with prior to travelling to it and the need to be able to make it an active location before you can remove it (unless you have a way of adding progress tokens to cards in the staging area).


Combat Phase - Core
4. If you defend with multiple characters and still take damage, how is that damage applied amongst the defenders?
The damage is applied to a single defender.
7. If an enemy cannot attack (caught in a forest snare for instance) do they still get dealt a shadow card?
By the rules, an attack consists of 4 steps (P. 18 rulebook). Dealing a shadow card is not one of those 4 steps but revealing a shadow card is. Therefore by the rules a shadow card is dealt but not revealed and is then discarded at the end of the phase. So the dealing of the card is currently a moot point and only relevant to burn through the encounter deck.
9. If a shadow effect or some other process causes a hero to lose an attachment, does this include negative attachments such as the Caught in a web treachery card? In effect can the shadow effect benefit the hero in this case?
No. The player is not considered to be in control of such cards as they are never played by a player.
15. Do enemies count as characters for effects such as the horn of Gondor?
No. They are not characters, only heroes and allies are classed as characters.
16. When a hero can attack twice (such as Aragorn's ability) can both attacks be against the same creature?
Yes, but only by using certain card effects. Each player can only attack each enemy once with which he is engaged, when the player is the active attacker. However, if a hero is somehow able to ready after being exhausted from attacking this enemy, and is able to attack through a card effect such as quickstrike then he can then be used to attack the same enemy again.
17. What happens when a "Hill Troll" attack goes undefended?
1.) Hill troll's damage all goes directly to threat. OR...
2.) Damage goes unto a hero and spills over into threat.
The answer is 2. Damage must be applied as in the rules (onto a single hero for an undefended attack), any excess damage is then applied as defined on the Hill Troll card.
18. When is the feint card played? Can it be played in conjunction with the Gondorian spearman as a defender?
By the rules, an attack consists of 4 steps (P. 18 rulebook). Therefore the feint card must be played before any of these steps occur and once played prevent any of these 4 steps from occurring. As one of these 4 steps is declare defender, Feint and Gondorian defender cannot be played against the same attack in the same round.
19. Do the threat of engaged enemies still count during the questing phase? Do engaged enemies disengage at the end of each round?
Only the threat of enemies in the staging area count when determining threat during the questing phase. When enemies move from the staging area to engaged with a player, the enemies stay engaged with that player over subsequent rounds unless a specific effect allows them to move back to the staging area. While engaged their threat is no longer counted, in the same way that the threat of an active location is no longer counted.
22. What does "eligible enemy target" mean on the Quick Strike card?
Eligible means "any enemy you can normally attack in the combat phase" quick strike allows you to attack that enemy in any phase. That would mean Dunhere can attack Enemies in Staging and Ranged characters could attack Enemies engaged with other players. Other characters would have to attack Enemies engaged with you. (Thanks to Apophenia for this concisely worded answer)
25. Do treachery cards effects resolve when they are drawn as shadow cards?
Only cards with a stated shadow effect resolve when drawn as a shadow cards. All other effects on the cards, regardless of card type are ignored.

27. During engagement checks, if there are two enemies with the same threat in the staging area which one engages the player?
Each player makes an engagement check in turn. If there are two enemies with the same threat rating equal to or less than the players threat then the player must choose to engage one of the enemies, which one is the player's choice (through discussion with the other players, if they so wish). Play then proceeds to the next player to make their engagement check and so on.
29. If when defending an attack, the revealed shadow effect deals damage and destroys the defender, is the attack now considered undefended?
P. 18, bottom left: "If a defending character leaves play or is removed from combat before damage is assigned, the attack is considered undefended." In this statement, damage assigned refers to damage generated by comparing attack strength vs. the defenders defence strength. As the defender was destroyed prior to this being calculated (via a direct damage shadow effect) the attack is considered undefended.

40. What happens if your hero takes a bunch of damage while wearing citadel plate, but then has to discard said armor. Would all the damage taken now apply to his unmodiffied Health levels?

According to the rulebook, hit points are "the number of damage required to destroy [a] card." Therefore, as soon as a card has a number of damage tokens on it equivalent to its hit points, it is immediately destroyed. So if Gimli had five damage tokens on him, but was still alive thanks to Citadel Plate, the moment that attachment was discarded, Gimli's hit points would of course be returned to their normal value (5), and he would be destroyed.

To make matters worse, if he had to discard the Citadel Plate due to, lets say, Forest Spider's shadow effect, the player wouldn't even have any opportunity to heal or remove any of those damage tokens before the attachment is discarded since shadow effects are resolved immediately.

41. If Wolf Rider is turned as a shadow card and therefore attacks the player with it's own shadow card, when does Wolf Rider return to the encounter deck?
The card states that Wolf Rider returns after combat - this means at the end of the entire combat phase, in which case the player can attampt to attack Wolf Rider back if he has an available Hero or ally to do so.

46. Regarding the Despair card's shadow effect that nullifies the defending character's defense, is that just the character card's printed defense? Is it possible to boost the defense with cards like Blade Mastery and Protector of Lorien?

No, Despair states the character does not count their defence. That is the total defence regardless of how it is obtained.
49. Can Stand Together be played to allow Sentinels to group together to defend against an undefended attack?
No. Stand Together specifically allows a player to use multiple defenders to defend against an attack on that player, whereas Sentinels are used to defend against undefended attacks against other players. The wording on the cards makes them mutually exclusive.
55. How is it possible to attack the same enemy more than once in a single round?
Without a specific card effect that can break the golden rule, such a QuickStrike, then while each player is the active player, they may declare only a single attack against each enemy that they may legally attack. Any number of the active players character's that are ready and able to attack that enemy can participate in that attack, In addition, any characters controlled by other players may participate in that attack providing they are ready and able to attack that enemy even if those characters have participated in an attack against that enemy already in the round.
Combat Phase - Shadows of Mirkwood

53. If the shadow card dealt to the Wargs is cancelled by burning brand, does the Wargs retreat to the staging area?
No. The Wargs card states that it returns to the staging area if it is dealt a shadow card with no effect. Although the effect is cancelled, the card itself still has an effect, it just doesn't affect anything.

New additions:

Q: When (at which substep of an attack) does "Striking Tentacle" 's forced effect trigger? Before step 2, and just preventing the declaration of a defender, or somewhen after step 2 (so I will want to declare a defender and when the attack is undefended, I also have exhausted that character in vain)
A: The forced effect triggers when it attacks, so that would happen in Step 1, before declaring defenders.
Q: When a hero is shuffled into my deck because of "Lost and Alone" and shall be attached to a Nameless enemy, is it possible? If yes, is his cost considered 0 or do I have to use his threat cost?
A: Yes it is possible. Heroes do not have cost, so it would count as 0.

Any other unanswered or heavily debated questions I have missed?

Edited by pumpkin, 29 September 2013 - 07:46 AM.


#2 Bohemond

Bohemond

    Member

  • Members
  • 566 posts

Posted 22 April 2011 - 11:54 AM

Thanks for compiling this list.  I would add something about whether monsters that can not attack still receive Shadow cards.



#3 pumpkin

pumpkin

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,112 posts

Posted 22 April 2011 - 12:00 PM

Bohemond said:

Thanks for compiling this list.  I would add something about whether monsters that can not attack still receive Shadow cards.

 

Added.



#4 Shadow1vt

Shadow1vt

    Member

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 22 April 2011 - 05:17 PM

What about Thalin's ability to do one damage and surge creatures with one hit point?



#5 widowmaker93

widowmaker93

    Member

  • Members
  • 238 posts

Posted 22 April 2011 - 05:55 PM

pumpkin said:

 

As there now quite a few questions and speculation around a few of the cards I thought I'd start a thread to start to collate them so that FFG at least can go to one place. As new questions arise that can't be fully answered by the current rule set or forumites, we can add them to this thread and bump it every so often.

If you've got a question please ask it in its own thread first and only add it here if us forumites can't come up with a concensus, otherwise this thread will get bogged down with questions and responses, which isn't the intention.

From looking at other threads the questions that I don't think have full answers yet are...

1. If Ungoliant's Spawn has already been defeated, or is already in play when Don't Leave the Path Enter play, what happens?

We actually have an official answer to this, but i have just added it for completeness, the answer is that if it is already defeated it must be defeated again, but if it is already in play, this does count as it being found and therefore will only need to be defeated once (not twice).

2. How does the Forced action on the Dol Guldur beastmaster work? When is the extra shadow card applied, and as it uses the words "After xxx attacks" (in the same way that Chieftain Ufthak has) how does the Chieftain's forced action work in comparison?

3. If a location in the staging area has enough progress tokens on it (from the Nothern tracker for instance), is it immediately removed from play, or does it still have to be made an active location, before it is removed?

4. If you defend with multiple characters and still take damage, how is that damage applied amongst the defenders?

5. When exhausting a character to a quest, do i exhaust a character and then use the action relating to that character then exhaust the next and so on, or do i exhaust all simultanously and then apply their actions in any order i want? (Important when using the Aragorn/Theodred combo)

6. Can you use Protector or Lorien to discard multiple cards to obtain > 1 defence or willpower bonus per round/phase?

7. If an enemy cannot attack (caught in a forest snare for instance) do they still get dealt a shadow card?

 

Any other unaswered or heavily debated questions I have missed?

 

1) You answered this one correct.

2) DGB gets dealt 2 shadow cards and both are resolved as if his ability read "when DGB attacks..." Chieftan Ufthak gets his +2 attack on the next round's attack phase as if his were actually "after the attack resolves..."

3) Locations in staging area that have full progress tokens are explored and discarded.

4)You cannot defend with multiple characters. One character per defend. Extra damage is soaked up and nothing happens. Undefended attacks all damage is applied to a single hero(if you didn't know).

5) All characters exhaust at the same time. Your choice on actions and their order. Yes, TheodredAragorn is just that damn good. :)

6) Yes, multiple times per round.

7) Yes they get dealt a shadow card but that attack is never resolved so the shadow card gets discarded without resolving it.



#6 widowmaker93

widowmaker93

    Member

  • Members
  • 238 posts

Posted 22 April 2011 - 07:07 PM

If someone plays Stand Together however you can divide the damage however you want among the characters. Basically allowing two 2HP allies to block a 2str attacker and both live. :)



#7 thearrow

thearrow

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 22 April 2011 - 08:16 PM

3. On page 15 of the rulebook it states that if a location EVER has as many progress tokens as it has quest points then that location is considered EXPLORED and is discarded from play. I t doesnt say that it has to be an active location for it to be discarded.

4. On page 18 of the rulebook - resolving enemy attacks.In the determine combat damage explanation it states that the damage must immediately be dealt to the defending character. Usually this would be on one character but where there are two defenders I think the rule would be "damage dealt to defending characters" (so you could share the damage between them if you want to).



#8 pumpkin

pumpkin

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,112 posts

Posted 22 April 2011 - 08:39 PM

Thanks for the various responses and although personally i think you are right in the majority if not all of the answers, I wanted to avoid having this thread bog down with forum assumed answers to the questions and just keep it an update of questions that still needed an official response, if possible (an impossible dream perhaps, but I can but try!)

All of the questions here have their own thread or threads on the forum, so check those out if you want to see why there is still some indecision on what the offical answer should be.; I won't repeat the discussions here.

@Shadow1VT,

I haven't seen that question asked elsewhere, what is the question exactly?

 

 

 



#9 Bohemond

Bohemond

    Member

  • Members
  • 566 posts

Posted 23 April 2011 - 02:19 AM

The question stems from the interaction of Thalin "While Thalin is committed to a quest, deal 1 damage to each enemy as it is revealed by the encounter deck" and Eastern Crows "Surge" power.

The argument, as I understand it is that Thalin's ability is an ongoing effect that happens as soon as cards are revealed.  The surge power states that you "resolve the surge keyword immediately after resolving any when revealed effects on the card."  So, Thalin's power activates when the Crows are revealed, killing them and sending them back into the encounter deck, without ever giving surge a chance to resolve. 



#10 Apophenia

Apophenia

    Member

  • Members
  • 131 posts

Posted 23 April 2011 - 04:52 AM

 I remembered one.

Are you considered to have control of Encounter deck cards attached to your characters (like Caught in the Web). This matters if you get one of the shadow effects that force you to discard an attachment.

 

Personally I think you do have control but it would be nice to have an official response.



#11 pumpkin

pumpkin

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,112 posts

Posted 23 April 2011 - 05:11 AM

Bohemond said:

The question stems from the interaction of Thalin "While Thalin is committed to a quest, deal 1 damage to each enemy as it is revealed by the encounter deck" and Eastern Crows "Surge" power.

The argument, as I understand it is that Thalin's ability is an ongoing effect that happens as soon as cards are revealed.  The surge power states that you "resolve the surge keyword immediately after resolving any when revealed effects on the card."  So, Thalin's power activates when the Crows are revealed, killing them and sending them back into the encounter deck, without ever giving surge a chance to resolve. 

Ah, got it. Added.



#12 pumpkin

pumpkin

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,112 posts

Posted 23 April 2011 - 05:12 AM

Apophenia said:

 I remembered one.

Are you considered to have control of Encounter deck cards attached to your characters (like Caught in the Web). This matters if you get one of the shadow effects that force you to discard an attachment.

 

Personally I think you do have control but it would be nice to have an official response.

Oh aye, I actually asked that question of the forum myself! added.



#13 widowmaker93

widowmaker93

    Member

  • Members
  • 238 posts

Posted 23 April 2011 - 05:27 AM

pumpkin said:

Thanks for the various responses and although personally i think you are right in the majority if not all of the answers, I wanted to avoid having this thread bog down with forum assumed answers to the questions and just keep it an update of questions that still needed an official response, if possible (an impossible dream perhaps, but I can but try!)

All of the questions here have their own thread or threads on the forum, so check those out if you want to see why there is still some indecision on what the offical answer should be.; I won't repeat the discussions here.

 

Well, it may not be a FAQ but it's how we've been playing it for a while now. I would wait for an official FAQ however since FFG probably won't waste time posting answers here.



#14 pumpkin

pumpkin

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,112 posts

Posted 23 April 2011 - 06:41 AM

widowmaker93 said:

pumpkin said:

 

Thanks for the various responses and although personally i think you are right in the majority if not all of the answers, I wanted to avoid having this thread bog down with forum assumed answers to the questions and just keep it an update of questions that still needed an official response, if possible (an impossible dream perhaps, but I can but try!)

All of the questions here have their own thread or threads on the forum, so check those out if you want to see why there is still some indecision on what the offical answer should be.; I won't repeat the discussions here.

 

 

 

Well, it may not be a FAQ but it's how we've been playing it for a while now. I would wait for an official FAQ however since FFG probably won't waste time posting answers here.

 

Thanks. Yes,  I don't expect FFG to reply directly to this thread but they do monitor the forums so I'm hopefully just giving them an easy method (along with everyone else on the forum) to find all the questions that can't be categorically answered by info in the rule book, so that when we do get a FAQ, these questions can be included in it.

All the questions on it have already started some debate to a greater or lesser degree



#15 Cabello

Cabello

    Member

  • Members
  • 156 posts

Posted 23 April 2011 - 07:48 AM

this question has been answered for locations, but what about for quests? what happenes when one gets the requisit number of exploration tokens outside of the quest phase, say from legolas. do you advance immediately or have to wait for the next quest phase? and if you have to wait do you have so successfully quest?



#16 widowmaker93

widowmaker93

    Member

  • Members
  • 238 posts

Posted 23 April 2011 - 10:14 AM

you advance in quest stages as soon as you hit the required progress. Nowhere in the rules does it state that you have to be in the Quest phase to advance a quest.



#17 Galandros

Galandros

    Member

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 23 April 2011 - 10:59 AM

My question concerns questing and revealing encounter cards:

In the rulebook it states that each player has the option to go on a quest. Then after all players decide the encounter deck reveals one card for each player. 

By the wording of the rulebook, I would apply that the encounter deck reveals X cards each turn where X = the number of the players in the game. So even if zero or only 1 player quest (in a 2 player game for instance) the encounter deck is still going to reveal 2 cards, since there are two players in the game.

I want to verify that this is indeed the correct and intended way to play. Thanks.



#18 Paul Grogan

Paul Grogan

    Member

  • Members
  • 451 posts

Posted 23 April 2011 - 11:28 AM

Galandros said:

My question concerns questing and revealing encounter cards:

In the rulebook it states that each player has the option to go on a quest. Then after all players decide the encounter deck reveals one card for each player. 

By the wording of the rulebook, I would apply that the encounter deck reveals X cards each turn where X = the number of the players in the game. So even if zero or only 1 player quest (in a 2 player game for instance) the encounter deck is still going to reveal 2 cards, since there are two players in the game.

I want to verify that this is indeed the correct and intended way to play. Thanks.

 

No need for that to be in the FAQ - its clear in the rules.  1 card per player.  Not 1 card per player who chose to quest.



#19 prune

prune

    Member

  • Members
  • 75 posts

Posted 23 April 2011 - 12:30 PM

After playing the Anduin scenario, I have questions about Encounter cards that are revealed outside of the Quest phase.

Does the Surge keyword apply?  (I believe not, since the rulebook's explanation of Surge explicitly refers to cards revealed during the quest phase)

What about cards like Pursued By Shadow, which refer to characters that are or are not committed to a quest?  Outside of the quest phase, or during setup, you won't have any characters committed to the quest.



#20 pumpkin

pumpkin

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,112 posts

Posted 23 April 2011 - 09:15 PM

widowmaker93 said:

you advance in quest stages as soon as you hit the required progress. Nowhere in the rules does it state that you have to be in the Quest phase to advance a quest.

I agree with this. P22 explains how questing and progress works and this is outside of the actual rulebook section on phase 3: quest, so quests advance at any phase as soon as they have sufficient progress tokens.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS