When it's my turn to declare attacks, I choose to attack a monster engaged with me, but I don't kill it.
Then, another player, on the same turn, when he is declaring his counter-attacks, declare and resolve an attack from distance against my enemy with a ranged character (like Legolas) and kill it.
Can we do this?
In other words, can two or more players attack the same monster in the same turn, with multiple separate attacks, if they have ranged characters?
Thematically it seems ok, and the Ranged keyword seems to grant this behavoiur as an exception to what is written at page 20:
After a player’s first attack has resolved, he can declare another attack against any eligible enemy target that he has not yet attacked this round. Each player can declare an attack (with any number of eligible attackers he controls) against each enemy with which he is engaged once each round. Once all of a player’s attacks resolve, play proceeds clockwise from the first player until all players have resolved all of their attacks.
This is what the rules say about the Ranged keyword:
A character with the ranged keyword can be declared by its controller as an attacker against enemies that are engaged with other players. A character can declare
ranged attacks against these targets while its owner is declaring attacks, or it can participate in attacks that are declared by other players.