Jump to content



Photo

Dol Guldur Beastmaster


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 EvilEdwin

EvilEdwin

    Member

  • Members
  • 186 posts

Posted 21 April 2011 - 07:29 AM

I'm a little curious as to when exactly the Beastmaster receives his extra Shadow card.

Is it after his attack has been resolved? If so, does he get a Shadow card dealt face up and therefore this extra card only has any effect if a player attacks the Beastmaster in return, rather then when a player is defending.



#2 Titeman

Titeman

    Member

  • Members
  • 244 posts

Posted 21 April 2011 - 09:48 AM

I was just coming on here to ask that very same question! Anyone know?...


--------------------------------------------------
Do not meddle in the affairs of Dragons, for you are crunchy and taste good with ketchup...

#3 Apophenia

Apophenia

    Member

  • Members
  • 131 posts

Posted 21 April 2011 - 10:00 AM

 This is being talked about on the Board Game Geek forum.

javascript:void(0);/*1303419405078*/

I think people are generally agreeing that it just means that the Dol Guldur Beastmaster is dealt 2 Shadow cards instead of 1 when you deal Shadow cards. However I will agree that the text could have been written better.



#4 pwvogt

pwvogt

    Member

  • Members
  • 76 posts

Posted 21 April 2011 - 10:01 AM

 The way I read the card is that you deal two immediately to the beastmaster which then gets the benefit of both possible shadow effects simultaneously.



#5 Toqtamish

Toqtamish

    Toqtamish

  • Members
  • 3,000 posts

Posted 21 April 2011 - 10:04 AM

Now that I have read the card in question I agree that it means he gets two instead of the normal one.



#6 Alessandro

Alessandro

    Member

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 21 April 2011 - 10:54 AM

pwvogt said:

 The way I read the card is that you deal two immediately to the beastmaster which then gets the benefit of both possible shadow effects simultaneously.

I agree.



#7 Iron-on Ghost

Iron-on Ghost

    Member

  • Members
  • 16 posts

Posted 22 April 2011 - 04:48 AM

"The enemy card Dol Guldur Orcs provides an example
of a shadow effect that triggers whenever the card is
dealt to an attacking enemy as a shadow card." (pg.23 of the LotR LCG Rulebook)

The shadow effect will be played immediately instead of being played face down. at the time that the card specifies: "after Dol Guldur Beastmaster attacks." which from my understanding is after the first stage of the combat step.

"1. Choose an enemy. The first player chooses which
attack (among the enemies to which he is engaged) to
resolve first." (pg.18 of the LotR LCG Rulebook)

I say this simply because on page 16 it states about the engagement phase

"Note that during this phase enemies do not attack
players, they merely engage players. Enemies attack
the players with whom they are engaged during the
combat phase (see page 18)."(pg.16 of the LotR LCG Rulebook)

but of course there is still confusion on the definition of after. I say it is after all 4 steps have taken place... because that is literally after he attacks. The Shadow effect would resolve and if it says +1 force... tough noogies. but that's me after some examination of the rule book and the card text. maybe not designers intent. It's tough getting all this jazz to mind meld.

please counter act me if you have some good points on the contrary.



#8 jhaelen

jhaelen

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,037 posts

Posted 22 April 2011 - 06:22 AM

Iron-on Ghost said:

please counter act me if you have some good points on the contrary.

I disagree. I think, you're overthinking this.



#9 monkeylite

monkeylite

    Member

  • Members
  • 834 posts

Posted 22 April 2011 - 07:36 AM

I think dealing a shadow card is implicitly always face down and has nothing to do with resolving that shadow. So after the Beastmaster attacks it gets a free face down shadow card. It won't get a chance to resolve this until its next attack phase, and it will also be dealt a standard shadow card before then.

So simply put, it means it gets one shadow the first round and two shadows every round thereafter.

 



#10 Apophenia

Apophenia

    Member

  • Members
  • 131 posts

Posted 22 April 2011 - 07:53 AM

monkeylite said:

I think dealing a shadow card is implicitly always face down and has nothing to do with resolving that shadow. So after the Beastmaster attacks it gets a free face down shadow card. It won't get a chance to resolve this until its next attack phase, and it will also be dealt a standard shadow card before then.

So simply put, it means it gets one shadow the first round and two shadows every round thereafter.

 

The problem with that interpretation is that the rules clearly say that at the end of the combat phase that you discard all shadow cards that were dealt this round.



#11 monkeylite

monkeylite

    Member

  • Members
  • 834 posts

Posted 22 April 2011 - 09:02 AM

Apophenia said:

monkeylite said:

 

I think dealing a shadow card is implicitly always face down and has nothing to do with resolving that shadow. So after the Beastmaster attacks it gets a free face down shadow card. It won't get a chance to resolve this until its next attack phase, and it will also be dealt a standard shadow card before then.

So simply put, it means it gets one shadow the first round and two shadows every round thereafter.

 

 

The problem with that interpretation is that the rules clearly say that at the end of the combat phase that you discard all shadow cards that were dealt this round.

Good point.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS