Jump to content


Quest Phase question

  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 CrowOfPyke



  • Members
  • 82 posts

Posted 21 April 2011 - 05:02 AM

If you do not commit any characters to the Quest what happens?


I assume the following:

-Encounter deck still reveals one cards per player.

-You did not put any Willpower towards the Quest so you increase your Threat by whatever the Threat rating is of the encounter cards in the Staging area.


This means you ALWAYS want to Quest every turn.  Which, based on the way things are written in the rulebook seems right.  But I thought I'd ask in case someone else found different in the rulebook.

#2 Toqtamish



  • Members
  • 3,515 posts

Posted 21 April 2011 - 05:12 AM

Precisely, not committing to a quest at all would be a very bad idea.

#3 krisarthur



  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 21 April 2011 - 06:58 AM

So the guys you commit to questing can't attack OR defend, correct?

The best strategy would be just to throw the weakest attacker/defender with the most willpower right?

Otherwise, you won't have anything left to attack/defend right?

#4 sputang



  • Members
  • 40 posts

Posted 21 April 2011 - 07:04 AM

Typically, yes.  It's part of the resource management part of the game on what to do with your characters.  The leadership deck though, has a couple of ways to ready characters in the middle of the round.  So those characters could exhaust to quest, and if they're readied somehow, can also exhaust to block or attack during combat.  Aragorn is awesome for this.

#5 Mighty Jim

Mighty Jim


  • Members
  • 507 posts

Posted 21 April 2011 - 09:30 PM

Or better still, Aragorn + Theodred. Both commit to the quest, Aragorn readies again, and so long as Aragorn starts with 1 resource in his pool, there's no net cost!

#6 The_Big_Show



  • Members
  • 667 posts

Posted 22 April 2011 - 01:27 AM

Play lots of allies. That's how I've made sure that I can quest, defend and attack. At the moment I think allies are key. 

© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS