Different art for Gandalf?

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 servant of the secret fire

servant of the secret fire

• Members
  • 410 posts

Posted 20 April 2011 - 02:04 PM

I saw Gandalf's search card and i think that wen you look Gandalf and Gandalf's search card is like you don't see the same person.Anyone has the same opinion or it is only my idea?

#2 Tiziano

Tiziano

• Members
  • 210 posts

Posted 22 April 2011 - 08:58 AM

I don't have the two cards in hand yet, but maybe, as an illustrator, I can help a bit.

When we get assigned work we are given a title and a short description, so, for instance an art order could be:

' Fleeting as  Smoke' : Gandalf (old man dressed in gray with long beard and a wide brimmed hat) sitting under a tree smoking a pipe (this description is made up, not a real card).

We don't see our collegues' work and are told very clearly to stay away from any kind of movie reference, so the only thing sure is that Gandalf will not look like Sir Ian McKellen.

If there are 3 different cards featuring Gandalf and they get assigned to different illustrators, each of them will paint his/her own interpretation, depending on how we visualize the character. The basic will stay the same, but the details will change, just like an edition of 'The Hobbit' illustrated by the Hildebrandt brothers will have a different flavor than one illustrated by Alan Lee.  

#3 Acererak

Acererak

• Members
  • 78 posts

Posted 22 April 2011 - 11:26 AM

Nice info, thanks for sharing Tiziano.

And congrats on Beravor.  What a nice illustration. One of my favorites, really. Hope you have some more coming!

Cheers

#4 Tiziano

Tiziano

• Members
  • 210 posts

Posted 22 April 2011 - 08:40 PM

You are welcome, Acererak.

Thank you for your appreciation, :). Yes, I have more art in the game, hope you'll like it.

#5 servant of the secret fire

• Members
  • 410 posts

Posted 23 April 2011 - 03:42 AM

Tiziano said: