Jump to content



Photo

2nd play and seemingly unwinnable - what am I missing?


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 ivory_tower

ivory_tower

    Member

  • Members
  • 218 posts

Posted 20 April 2011 - 11:55 AM

Ok, so I was playing with the Spirit sphere of influence deck and the Passage through Mirkwood scenario.  The final task was revealed that I had to defeat the Ungoliant's spawn. My threat was only 29 so I was able to get 4 damage on him using Dunhere's ability to attack enemies in the staging area.  But once my threat was up to 32, the same as the enemy, after he engaged me, I am no longer able to defeat him since all of my heroes and units are only 2 power or less. I searched through the whole deck and there wasn't one card that would increase the power so it looks like I cannot win because the ungoliants spawn's defense was 2 shields.

Am I missing something?



#2 Apophenia

Apophenia

    Member

  • Members
  • 131 posts

Posted 20 April 2011 - 11:58 AM

 If you attack the same enemy with multiple characters then they combine their attack strength. Then the enemies defense in subtracted from that combined total. The applicable rules are on page 20 under Determine attack strength and Determine combat damage.



#3 Bohemond

Bohemond

    Member

  • Members
  • 566 posts

Posted 20 April 2011 - 12:16 PM

ivory_tower said:

Ok, so I was playing with the Spirit sphere of influence deck and the Passage through Mirkwood scenario.  The final task was revealed that I had to defeat the Ungoliant's spawn. My threat was only 29 so I was able to get 4 damage on him using Dunhere's ability to attack enemies in the staging area.  But once my threat was up to 32, the same as the enemy, after he engaged me, I am no longer able to defeat him since all of my heroes and units are only 2 power or less. I searched through the whole deck and there wasn't one card that would increase the power so it looks like I cannot win because the ungoliants spawn's defense was 2 shields.

Am I missing something?

Gandalaf

 

And what Apophenia said



#4 ivory_tower

ivory_tower

    Member

  • Members
  • 218 posts

Posted 20 April 2011 - 12:31 PM

Ok, I thought I read that only a single character could attack any single monster, thanks.



#5 Apophenia

Apophenia

    Member

  • Members
  • 131 posts

Posted 20 April 2011 - 12:37 PM

ivory_tower said:

 

Ok, I thought I read that only a single character could attack any single monster, thanks.

 

 

Only one character can defend each enemy, you can attack an enemy with as many characters as you want. (Although cards like Stand Together will let you defend with multiple characters)



#6 vermillian

vermillian

    Member

  • Members
  • 882 posts

Posted 20 April 2011 - 04:12 PM

 When you defend with multiple characters, where does the damage go? ... Isn't defending the same as attacking?

Unless there's some kind of trample damage I'm not aware of... attack beyond your health is just wasted (fortunately?) on you right? So, I mean, after we survive that attack, all my guys that defended now counter attack right?



#7 conykchameleon

conykchameleon

    Member

  • Members
  • 158 posts

Posted 20 April 2011 - 04:49 PM

vermillian said:

 When you defend with multiple characters, where does the damage go?

 

You can only defend against any one enemy with one character.



#8 Dasor

Dasor

    Member

  • Members
  • 20 posts

Posted 20 April 2011 - 10:17 PM

conykchameleon said:

vermillian said:

 

 When you defend with multiple characters, where does the damage go?

 

 

 

You can only defend against any one enemy with one character.

 

there's a tactic card that allows you to defend with more chars

the defense level is the sum.



#9 Mighty Jim

Mighty Jim

    Member

  • Members
  • 507 posts

Posted 20 April 2011 - 10:51 PM

vermillian said:

 When you defend with multiple characters, where does the damage go? ... Isn't defending the same as attacking?

Unless there's some kind of trample damage I'm not aware of... attack beyond your health is just wasted (fortunately?) on you right? So, I mean, after we survive that attack, all my guys that defended now counter attack right?

I don't think so  - first you exhaust a character to defend against the attack. Then you have to exhaust a different character (or several if you like) to fight back against the enemy.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS