Jump to content



Photo

[Card Discussion] Gandalf (+combos)


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 faith_star83

faith_star83

    Member

  • Members
  • 264 posts

Posted 20 April 2011 - 04:22 AM

Hi guys,

 

since questions and comments about Gandalf are popping up in every kind of place, I thought to open up an official Gandalf thread.

I think one of the most frequently asked question is about the Gandalf + Sneak Attack combo.

The combo is possible afaik. Gandalf reads: Response: After Gandalf enters play, (choose 1): draw 3 cards, deal 4 damage to 1 enemy, or reduce your threat by 5.

Sneak Attack reads: Action: Put 1 ally card into play from your hand. At the end of the phase, if that ally is still in play, return it to your hand.

Following the text, Gandalf triggers when entering play. And he does that when being put into play by Sneak Attack in my opinion.

But I wonder if I can play - as a last action of the round when Gandalf leaves play - the card Valiant Sacrifice!



#2 Bohemond

Bohemond

    Member

  • Members
  • 566 posts

Posted 20 April 2011 - 04:37 AM

I would think that playing Valiant Sacrifice would be permissible.  What's the argument for not allowing it?



#3 rings

rings

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,253 posts

Posted 20 April 2011 - 05:10 AM

From the wording of the cards, I think he triggers on Sneak, and Sacrifice triggers for sure (leaving play, otherwise would say 'after being discarded').  I don't see a reason why not (other than both being pretty powerful). 

Again, I think both were demo'd as working that way as well - albiet a long time ago (last year's GenCon).


Oh, King eh? Very nice...

#4 mason240

mason240

    Member

  • Members
  • 163 posts

Posted 20 April 2011 - 07:25 AM

 Did anyone else get 4 copies of Gandalf? Is is the only card in the player decks that has more then 3, so I'm wondering if it was an accident. I'm going to put 3 in the database unless everyone else got got 4 as well.



#5 Toqtamish

Toqtamish

    Toqtamish

  • Members
  • 3,369 posts

Posted 20 April 2011 - 07:27 AM

Every copy comes with 4. One per 30 card starter deck. It's right in the rulebook. Page 10.

Each starter deck should also include 1 copy of the
neutral ally card, Gandalf (card 73).






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS