Jump to content



Photo

[Rules Question] Son of Arnor


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 faith_star83

faith_star83

    Member

  • Members
  • 228 posts

Posted 20 April 2011 - 01:21 AM

well...it is not really a rules question, but I don't really get this guy....as far as i know we're allowed to play allies during the planning phase only. So what good does it for me when I can engage an enemy in the planning phase? I won't get to fight him until later anyway? Or does this only work with Sneak Attack...but even then, the only thing I can see is that I will be able to engage two enemies instead of just one...is that it? Or am I just blind? I played a couple of rounds and this guy seemed really useless to me!



#2 ClydeCloggie

ClydeCloggie

    Member

  • Members
  • 292 posts

Posted 20 April 2011 - 01:34 AM

It means that you can take an enemy out of the Staging area before you Quest. This reduces the threat in the staging area and thus increases your chances of being able to place progress tokens on the quest or active location.



#3 Bohemond

Bohemond

    Member

  • Members
  • 566 posts

Posted 20 April 2011 - 02:29 AM

Also, if you have multiple players you can take a monster engaged with another deck and bring it to your side of the table.



#4 faith_star83

faith_star83

    Member

  • Members
  • 228 posts

Posted 20 April 2011 - 02:54 AM

Thanks guys, I see.

To me the card seems rather weak in single player, considering he's a 0/2/0/2 for 3! But I guess it might be useful in Multiplayer...



#5 vermillian

vermillian

    Member

  • Members
  • 882 posts

Posted 20 April 2011 - 03:21 AM

 It could win you a game: You eliminate threat in the SA before it can detract from your questing totals.



#6 Bohemond

Bohemond

    Member

  • Members
  • 566 posts

Posted 20 April 2011 - 03:24 AM

His come into play power also sets up some nifty combos.  For instance, it allows you to pull an enemy into engagement and hit him with Forest Snare, without suffering through an attack. 



#7 faith_star83

faith_star83

    Member

  • Members
  • 228 posts

Posted 20 April 2011 - 04:02 AM

@Bohemond: I see you are already more into the game than me...I can't wait to start my own deckbuilding. I'm convinced now his ability can be quite useful...especially since I had another go before and it came in quite handy to engage the forest spider early and get some extra quest-markers on!



#8 ClydeCloggie

ClydeCloggie

    Member

  • Members
  • 292 posts

Posted 20 April 2011 - 04:45 AM

Bohemond said:

Also, if you have multiple players you can take a monster engaged with another deck and bring it to your side of the table.

Not entirely sure about this one, Bohemond. I would assume that he can only engage enemies that are not already engaged, i.e. he can only target enemies in the SA.

 



#9 Bohemond

Bohemond

    Member

  • Members
  • 566 posts

Posted 20 April 2011 - 04:55 AM

ClydeCloggie said:

Bohemond said:

 

Also, if you have multiple players you can take a monster engaged with another deck and bring it to your side of the table.

 

 

Not entirely sure about this one, Bohemond. I would assume that he can only engage enemies that are not already engaged, i.e. he can only target enemies in the SA.

We are all assimilating deluge of data at a very fast rate, and, as a consequence, missing things.  I think you just missed the final clause in his response power.

"Response: After Son of Arnor enters play, choose an enemy card in the staging area or currently engaged with another player. Engage that enemy."



#10 ClydeCloggie

ClydeCloggie

    Member

  • Members
  • 292 posts

Posted 20 April 2011 - 05:17 AM

Check.



#11 Mighty Jim

Mighty Jim

    Member

  • Members
  • 505 posts

Posted 20 April 2011 - 06:49 AM

ClydeCloggie said:

It means that you can take an enemy out of the Staging area before you Quest. This reduces the threat in the staging area and thus increases your chances of being able to place progress tokens on the quest or active location.

 

So do engaged enemies not contribute their threat to the Quest? no wonder that game was so difficult!



#12 Toqtamish

Toqtamish

    Toqtamish

  • Members
  • 2,772 posts

Posted 20 April 2011 - 07:18 AM

Once engaged much like active locations they are no longer in the staging area and therefore no longer add their threat.



#13 prune

prune

    Member

  • Members
  • 75 posts

Posted 20 April 2011 - 09:46 AM

I made similar mistakes in my first couple of play throughs, and thought the same thing you did.

Mighty Jim said:

ClydeCloggie said:

So do engaged enemies not contribute their threat to the Quest? no wonder that game was so difficult!



#14 Watcher

Watcher

    Member

  • Members
  • 70 posts

Posted 20 April 2011 - 09:59 AM

I am actually grateful for these discussions. In a way, it's a drag to read about the game when I don't have my game (coming 2nd air tomorrow!); on the other hand you guys have really addressed a lot of issues that I will now have a handle on when I can actually play.



#15 Mighty Jim

Mighty Jim

    Member

  • Members
  • 505 posts

Posted 20 April 2011 - 11:51 AM

prune said:

I made similar mistakes in my first couple of play throughs, and thought the same thing you did.

Mighty Jim said:

 

ClydeCloggie said:

So do engaged enemies not contribute their threat to the Quest? no wonder that game was so difficult!

 

 

I knwo that playing solo with only a thirty card deck is never going to be easy, but playing a difficulty 1 scenario, and scarping to the end with threat 48 and each hero one hit point from death seemed a bit much - played it properly second time round and managed it a bit more comfortably.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS