Jump to content



Photo

North Church - Underground Press InterAction ? I want to believe ....


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 phantomsurfer

phantomsurfer

    Member

  • Members
  • 37 posts

Posted 13 January 2009 - 12:50 AM

I was wondering about the possible interaction of the two cards but I'm not really clear about the " resourcing" operation. I would like to know other opinions about that

 

 

========== Syndicate ==========

 

Underground Press
-----------------
Type : Support
Cost : 3
Subtype : Location.
Game Text: Response: after you attach a resource to one of your domains from your hand, attach the top card of your deck to that same domain, as a resource.
Collector's Info: EE R90

========== Neutral ==========

North Church
------------
Type : Support
Cost : 3
Subtype : Location.
Game Text: Action: pay 1 to exchange a card in your hand with a resource attached to one of your Domains.
Collector's Info: AE R231


 



#2 The_Big_Show

The_Big_Show

    Member

  • Members
  • 644 posts

Posted 13 January 2009 - 01:25 AM

I can't see a problem with that. Looks fine to me.



#3 phantomsurfer

phantomsurfer

    Member

  • Members
  • 37 posts

Posted 13 January 2009 - 04:21 AM

Uhhmm sorry  'bout that ...... I was misunderstood.

 

I was wondering about if it is possible to consider the exchangin as resourcing. In fact You change the card but it can be considered also as a new resourcing so you can activate the Underground Press response. (?)

 

 

 

 



#4 The_Big_Show

The_Big_Show

    Member

  • Members
  • 644 posts

Posted 13 January 2009 - 05:01 AM

phantomsurfer said:

Uhhmm sorry  'bout that ...... I was misunderstood.

I was wondering about if it is possible to consider the exchangin as resourcing. In fact You change the card but it can be considered also as a new resourcing so you can activate the Underground Press response. (?) 

No, I understood fine. I agree that that combo should work fine.



#5 PRODIGEE

PRODIGEE

    Member

  • Members
  • 539 posts

Posted 13 January 2009 - 09:02 PM

I'm sorry, The-Big-Show, but I don't realy understand why you said that exchanging a ressource shall be considered as adding a new ressource to your domain ....

Let's say you gat a Domain A, with 3 ressources.

You play north church, you exchange a card from your hand with a ressource.

Underground press would'nt trigger, as you did'nt ADD any ressource to your domain A, which as still 3 ressources.

The previous ressource was attachd, that's okay, but once you start your exchange, it's considered as a simple ressource. You don't create a new occurence on ressourcing.

 

I might be wrong, but that's how I would rule it on tournaments.



#6 Carioz

Carioz

    Member

  • Members
  • 318 posts

Posted 13 January 2009 - 09:34 PM

I'd rule it the same way Prodigee would.

Then again, given the pretty fluid and sometime plain wierd rules clarifications we got over time by the dev team, I'd directly mail Nate. Or Paul. Or whoever is in charge to answering these things.



#7 phantomsurfer

phantomsurfer

    Member

  • Members
  • 37 posts

Posted 14 January 2009 - 12:20 AM

Mainly i set the query because by the time you exchange a card from a domain you de- resource a domain (?) , and later you'll put a new card so in fact you add a resource ( so you are resourcing) . It is a Kind of ethimological i know but i think was enaough to spent some time about that.



#8 PRODIGEE

PRODIGEE

    Member

  • Members
  • 539 posts

Posted 14 January 2009 - 11:58 PM

I know Cannon or Marius would explain it pretty well, but I'll do my best :

Norch Church has an Action, that allow you to exchange a ressource from a domaine with a card from your hand.

It open a window of action, which allow you to do this effect. A ressource is taken, one's given at the same time. So, there's no occurence for a de-ressourcing and a ressourcong, as the domain itself don't change, only the ressource on it.

I hope I explained myself well, in case not, my bad



#9 The_Big_Show

The_Big_Show

    Member

  • Members
  • 644 posts

Posted 15 January 2009 - 12:29 AM

PRODIGEE said:

I'm sorry, The-Big-Show, but I don't realy understand why you said that exchanging a ressource shall be considered as adding a new ressource to your domain ....

Sorry, would have replied yesturday but work MAC doesn't like the FFG forums.

The way I look at it is that even though its a swap you are still technically adding a new resource because its a different card. For me its more about the intent rather than purely the wording. Now if I'm wrong, fine, hands up.



#10 PearlJamaholic

PearlJamaholic

    Member

  • Members
  • 541 posts

Posted 15 January 2009 - 07:26 AM

north church says 'exchange' not attach so i dont think the two cards work together either.



#11 The_Big_Show

The_Big_Show

    Member

  • Members
  • 644 posts

Posted 16 January 2009 - 11:21 PM

Last night while attempting to learn AGoT, this topic came up during a wording discussion in that game. Two of the other players do play CoC, the third does not but is an experienced CCGer. Looking at the cards and the rules, all three of my companions agreed that dispite it being a swap, you are still attaching a new card. Theres no mechanics or rules to state that an attach is only done when playing a new resource.

 






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS