Jump to content



Photo

What is the point of giving 0-cost cars a colour?


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Veross

Veross

    Member

  • Members
  • 88 posts

Posted 12 January 2009 - 08:51 PM

Hi;

We were reviewing our collection and my wife asked me a question: Why there are 0-cost cards which does have a colour? If you play 0-cost card you do not need a colour match? You can have pure Cthulhu deck and include those cards!

I am talking about (for example): Xanthophobia (AE),  Snow Graves (AMM), or Sound of the Whippoorwills (FC)?

 



#2 Carioz

Carioz

    Member

  • Members
  • 318 posts

Posted 12 January 2009 - 09:49 PM

The reason to color 0 cost card is not for how they are played, but for how they are resourced: you might notice the fact that some cards need off faction steadfast, or, when balancing decks, you might need some color match in your resources.



#3 Veross

Veross

    Member

  • Members
  • 88 posts

Posted 12 January 2009 - 10:05 PM

Please note that none of those 3 are steadfast of affect specific colour.

The question is still valid.



#4 Carioz

Carioz

    Member

  • Members
  • 318 posts

Posted 12 January 2009 - 10:38 PM

I wasn't very clear: the point of coloring a 0 cost card is not to forbid it from being played by all other colors, but to make it slightly more useful to chosen color, as it doesn't break the resourcing scheme.

As some cards need off faction resources to be played (steadfast) or to activate their abilities (e.g. Speaking cells, Black Spawn from Below), having an off color 0 cost card can help (admittedly 10 would be better), as you can decide to either play the card or resource it.



#5 The_Big_Show

The_Big_Show

    Member

  • Members
  • 644 posts

Posted 13 January 2009 - 12:05 AM

Perhaps an easier way to put it, would be to say that it has a colour/faction so that it can be used as a resource for that colour/faction.



#6 Marius

Marius

    Member

  • Members
  • 725 posts

Posted 13 January 2009 - 03:01 AM

Also - but it's rare, I know - it matters when there is a damping light-like effect  where everything costs 1 more. Then suddenly you need the correct faction. But yes, it's mostly done for resourcing purposes.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS