Jump to content



Photo

Xagyg's Alien Horde


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 xagyg

xagyg

    Member

  • Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 15 April 2011 - 04:33 AM

UNDERDOG

The UNDERDOG adds the total number of foreign colonies (other than their own) to their attack total BUT only for aliens that have more foreign colonies than the UNDERDOG. For example, take aliens A, B, C, U (underdog). A has 1 foreign colon...y, B has 3 foreign colonies, C has 4 foreign colonies, U has 2 foreign colonies. Hence, U could add 7 (B + C) to his/her attack total.

SQUABBLER

The SQUABBLER. If invited to ally - if both players negotiate then the SQUABBLER may use his/her power to quash the deal. If only one player negotiates and the SQUABBLER has allied with them, the SQUABBLER may use his/her power to cancel the negotiating players compensation.



#2 xagyg

xagyg

    Member

  • Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 16 April 2011 - 09:28 PM

HERMIT (or PRIDE) - not sure on name

You have the power of one. Use at reveal stage. If you have not invited allies, roll a die and add the value to your attack total. If you HAVE invited allies, subtract the die roll from your attack total. (Yes this introduces a new device called a die into the game - radical).



#3 xagyg

xagyg

    Member

  • Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 16 April 2011 - 11:40 PM

MATHEMATICIAN.

During the Planning phase the Mathematician may use his/her power by calling one of "add", subtract", "mutiply", "divide". For example, if Mathematician calls "add" then the digits on the encounter cards are added (e.g. 09 = 0+ 9 = 9. 12 = 1 + 2 = 3 etc.). If "subtract" then 40 becomes 4 - 0 = 4. 11 becomes 1 - 1 = 0 etc. If "multiply" then 06 becomes 0 x 6 = 0. 23 becomes 2 x 3 = 6 etc. If "divide" (round up), 23 becomes 2 / 3 = 1 (after round up), 0 / 9 = 0, 4 / 0 = negotiate, 1 / 0 = negotiate. (Alterntive rule is that diveide by 0 becomes infinity in which case if both encounter cards result in infinity then defender wins becaus of same result irrespective of number of ships because any operation on infinity is still infinity).

This power applies to both main players' encounter cards.



#4 xagyg

xagyg

    Member

  • Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 17 April 2011 - 12:20 PM

Edit to Mathematicican - for those who don't like "divide" - leave it out (or as a variant) - it could be problematic and confusing. So, that reduces Mathematician to "add", "subtract", "multiply". All of those are fairly simple operations.



#5 xagyg

xagyg

    Member

  • Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 17 April 2011 - 12:21 PM

Kill Hermit/Pride (use of die is too radical).

So that leaves us with UNDERDOG, SQUABBLER, MATHEMATICIAN (add, subract, multiply).

 






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS