Jump to content



Photo

Nazgul Question


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Elendil23

Elendil23

    Member

  • Members
  • 36 posts

Posted 11 April 2011 - 06:45 AM

I don't know whether this has been answered elsewhere as I am new to the game (having spent the last five months tracking one down!)

Can the Nazgul 'capture' cities and/or strongholds that are unoccupied by the Free Peoples? I wondered if they could 'blitz' those cities/towns worth one point that are often 'overlooked' by the Free Peoples player (well, at least in the couple of games my son and I have played so far).



#2 Dam

Dam

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,295 posts

Posted 11 April 2011 - 07:21 AM

No, you need an army to gain control of a settlement.


"A dirty mind is its own reward."


#3 Elendil23

Elendil23

    Member

  • Members
  • 36 posts

Posted 11 April 2011 - 10:34 PM

Thanks Dam

That was actually what my son pointed out (and what I suspected anyway) - I was just a little 'miffed' that the elves had overrun Moria and wanted some swift revenge!

I am now trawling through this particular forum which is full of tips and info (despite the fact that while the game awaits reprint status there is something of a hiatus).

Thanks again

Elendil



#4 Krieghund

Krieghund

    Member

  • Members
  • 131 posts

Posted 12 April 2011 - 06:35 AM

Welcome to the game!  Also be sure to check out Veldrin's WotR site: www.warofthering.eu/



#5 Seren

Seren

    Member

  • Members
  • 68 posts

Posted 15 April 2011 - 07:46 AM

Cool site, thanks for sharing the link here!



#6 bamloiz

bamloiz

    Member

  • Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 18 April 2011 - 03:13 AM

My understanding is that Nazgul are leaders which means they cannot engage in combat alone but need to accompany an army. They do have some unique characteristics in that they can occupy enemy strongholds but will need to fight with an army if you intend to use them in battle.



#7 Tsugo

Tsugo

    Member

  • Members
  • 286 posts

Posted 19 April 2011 - 04:24 AM

bamloiz said:

My understanding is that Nazgul are leaders which means they cannot engage in combat alone but need to accompany an army. They do have some unique characteristics in that they can occupy enemy strongholds but will need to fight with an army if you intend to use them in battle.

Nazgul can occupy any region other than a FP stronghold controlled by the FP without an army.  I usually place one in the region with the fellowship's LKP to make sure I get a hunt reroll.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS