Jump to content



Photo

Great People ?= Buildings?


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Sohum

Sohum

    Member

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 10 April 2011 - 08:15 AM

 To what degree do great people count as buildings? Can they be targeted by things like Gunpowder or Combustion? 



#2 Fnoffen

Fnoffen

    Member

  • Members
  • 524 posts

Posted 10 April 2011 - 11:22 PM

(Removed by author due to failure to format text. Same reply with correct format found below)


Pax Magnifica Bellum Gloriosum


#3 Fnoffen

Fnoffen

    Member

  • Members
  • 524 posts

Posted 10 April 2011 - 11:23 PM

Sohum said:

 To what degree do great people count as buildings? Can they be targeted by things like Gunpowder or Combustion? 

Now I don't have the game in front of me but my point of view is as follows: If the text on a tech like Gunpowder or Combustion says it can target a building or wonder for destruction then they can target a building or wonder and nothing else.

 

That point of view aside, If said techs CAN destroy a Great Person, it would only be moved to the owners reserves, ready to be placed at the next Start of Turn again anyway since Great People never get destroyed. So it would be way more cost-efficient to destroy a building or wonder since you then deny the owner of the building/wonder the trade/construction/Culture until it is rebuilt , in the case of buildings, or forever, in the case of wonders.

 


Pax Magnifica Bellum Gloriosum


#4 muk

muk

    Member

  • Members
  • 34 posts

Posted 11 April 2011 - 08:36 PM

They work and are placed just like building but they ain't one.

If something affects building it doesn't work on Wonders and Great People.

There are some Culture Cards that specify that they work on Great People and that GP is lost. The rulebook specifies when can you keep him:

"However, great people have one significant advantage over
buildings. If they are replaced (by having a building, wonder,
or another great person placed in their square), they are held in
reserve and returned to the player’s civilization sheet instead of
being discarded."

 

So if the city is destroyed or the GP himself is killed, you simply discard him.

 






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS