Jump to content



Photo

Victory Points Card Rule Question


  • Please log in to reply
26 replies to this topic

#1 Pikko

Pikko

    Member

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 30 March 2011 - 03:30 AM

On page 24 you can read:

"Some enemy and location cards award victory points
when they are defeated. When such a card leaves play,
one player should place it near his threat dial to remind
the players of the victory points when they are scoring
at the end of the game."

and on page 20:

"defeated enemies are
placed in the encounter discard pile"

So, where you think we need to discard cards with victory points?

Near a player or back in the encounter deck?



#2 micheni

micheni

    Member

  • Members
  • 31 posts

Posted 30 March 2011 - 05:07 AM

the logic says that encounetr cards are placed on the encounter discard pile except from those that have vp on them . these are kept by a player beside his her threat dial

micheni



#3 Toqtamish

Toqtamish

    Toqtamish

  • Members
  • 3,256 posts

Posted 30 March 2011 - 06:18 AM

Or could track it with a die, on a piece of paper etc.



#4 ClydeCloggie

ClydeCloggie

    Member

  • Members
  • 294 posts

Posted 30 March 2011 - 09:56 AM

Toqtamish said:

Or could track it with a die, on a piece of paper etc.

The issue is, if the discard pile gets reshuffled into the encounter deck, do defeated VP enemies/locations go back in as well or do they remain apart? Would be an added incentive to go for the kill if it's the latter.



#5 Sisyphus

Sisyphus

    Member

  • Members
  • 27 posts

Posted 30 March 2011 - 12:53 PM

edit: double post



#6 Sisyphus

Sisyphus

    Member

  • Members
  • 27 posts

Posted 30 March 2011 - 01:03 PM

Pikko said:

 

So, where you think we need to discard cards with victory points?

Near a player or back in the encounter deck?

 

 

 

I'd say that in either case they're effectively in the encounter deck discard pile, even if not physically in said pile.



#7 DrNate

DrNate

    Member

  • Members
  • 238 posts

Posted 30 March 2011 - 01:04 PM

When I read that, I guessed that the card with a point value are set aside so that players can only win their points once. It made sense at the time, but now I don't know how much difference it would make.



#8 Bohemond

Bohemond

    Member

  • Members
  • 566 posts

Posted 30 March 2011 - 02:52 PM

From what we have seen, the cards with Victory Points are particularly nasty foes. My interpretation was that, unlike normal encounters, once you dealt with them, they were gone for good. Both in terms of game balance and narrative, they don’t recycle. You may have to carve your way through a slew of Goblin Snipers and Dol Guldor Orcs, but you only have to kill Cheiftan Ufthak once.



#9 Casamyr

Casamyr

    Member

  • Members
  • 71 posts

Posted 30 March 2011 - 07:33 PM

It makes sense that they don't recycle and keeps with the whole thing that there can't be 2 Aragon's in the game. I think when I play, the card with a VP value won't be added to the discard pile to come out again. Once you have killed Cheiftan Ufthak, he can't come back to fight you again.

 

 



#10 faith_star83

faith_star83

    Member

  • Members
  • 234 posts

Posted 30 March 2011 - 08:31 PM

The rules state on p. 24:

"Some enemy and location cards award victory points when they are defeated. When such a card leaves play, one player should place it near his threat dial to remind the players of the victory points when they are scoring at the end of the game."

I think this states more or less clearly that the cards are not placed in the discard pile, but next to a player's threat dial. Although I have to admit, that it could be a bit more explicitly stated to remove any doubts. But as said, I think that it would also fit the concept of the game to not recycle these kind of uniqe enemies or locations that give VP.

Speaking of which: Are locations also normally recycled when the encounter deck is reshuffled? Would seem kind of strange to travel to the same location twice in one game...



#11 Toqtamish

Toqtamish

    Toqtamish

  • Members
  • 3,256 posts

Posted 31 March 2011 - 07:08 AM

It can be done though, you can visit the same place twice.

I agree that the creatures with VP should not be used more than once.



#12 ClydeCloggie

ClydeCloggie

    Member

  • Members
  • 294 posts

Posted 31 March 2011 - 07:16 AM

Toqtamish said:

It can be done though, you can visit the same place twice.

I agree that the creatures with VP should not be used more than once.

Plus: not all locations are unique (like Forest Gate), and some represent pretty big regions (like Gladden Fields). So I have no issues with travelling to the same location twice.

Having to kill Ufthak twice doesn't make sense though.



#13 Sisyphus

Sisyphus

    Member

  • Members
  • 27 posts

Posted 31 March 2011 - 07:36 AM

  If victory point enemies truly are meant to be placed in a limbo of no return, I'd suggest that it be clarified as such in future errata.   As of right now I see the placement as a means of facilitating bookkeeping rather than a separate special discard pile.  



#14 Toqtamish

Toqtamish

    Toqtamish

  • Members
  • 3,256 posts

Posted 31 March 2011 - 07:46 AM

It's already in the rules

 

on p. 24:

"Some enemy and location cards award victory points when they are defeated. When such a card leaves play, one player should place it near his threat dial to remind the players of the victory points when they are scoring at the end of the game."



#15 Sisyphus

Sisyphus

    Member

  • Members
  • 27 posts

Posted 31 March 2011 - 08:06 AM

Toqtamish said:

 

It's already in the rules

 

on p. 24:

"Some enemy and location cards award victory points when they are defeated. When such a card leaves play, one player should place it near his threat dial to remind the players of the victory points when they are scoring at the end of the game."

 

 

 

 

If a separate "removed from the game" discard pile is indeed the intention, I would suggest adding the Victory Point enemy discard pile to the Suggested Play Field Setup on page 11  and errata added to the oft-quoted Victory X section on page 24 to reflect it.  



#16 Toqtamish

Toqtamish

    Toqtamish

  • Members
  • 3,256 posts

Posted 31 March 2011 - 08:27 AM

Do you really need that in the picture to understand it ?

The rule on page 24 is very clear. Put the enemy by the players threat dial. Not sure how much clearer it can be.



#17 Sisyphus

Sisyphus

    Member

  • Members
  • 27 posts

Posted 31 March 2011 - 08:39 AM

Toqtamish said:

 

Do you really need that in the picture to understand it ?

The rule on page 24 is very clear. Put the enemy by the players threat dial. Not sure how much clearer it can be.

 

 

Yes. I like my instructions to have all aspects of the game listed as clearly as possible. That includes listing all relevant discard piles in illustrations of play.



#18 PWBrian

PWBrian

    Member

  • Members
  • 84 posts

Posted 31 March 2011 - 09:06 AM

Toqtamish said:

Do you really need that in the picture to understand it ?

The rule on page 24 is very clear. Put the enemy by the players threat dial. Not sure how much clearer it can be.

Most people will probably agree that's what the rule is saying, I think some people just prefer if it's explicitly stated when a situation contradicts the normal rule.  If page 24 said, for example, "...one player should place it near his threat dial, instead of placing it in the discard pile..." that would provide something closer to the crystal clarity that some players like to have.



#19 Toqtamish

Toqtamish

    Toqtamish

  • Members
  • 3,256 posts

Posted 31 March 2011 - 10:47 AM

Seems silly to me but whatever. I would rather play than argue every little bit of tiny minutiae in the rules. Its a game after all.



#20 PWBrian

PWBrian

    Member

  • Members
  • 84 posts

Posted 31 March 2011 - 11:27 AM

And with this not being a competitive game, I think minutiae are a little less important.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS