First, monsters tokens on the board are ever only fought in phase 2. Period. The only time we fight in phase 3 or 4 is if a card tells us to do so. if you have different information, please show me a page number.
Your arguement about movement points and items makes no sense. Things like tomes and motorcycles clearly say they must be used in the movement phase, and if there is any item that grants movement points in any phase ( i cant think of any, most clearly say : Movement on them), but if there is, its also clear that the only things we can do in phase 3 are :
1) Draw a card
2) Get drawn through a gate.
We cannot move, we cannot go anywhere, those are not part of the listed actions allowed for phase 3. So, since most movement point items are clearly marked movement phase only, if there is one or two that says any phase, then i would argue they are fair game in any phase.
FaQ are not intended to make an added rule, but to clarify existing rules, and the rulebook clearly states, just as clearly as the clue token rule you just quoted, that monsters are only dealt with in phase 2. Not phase 3, not phase 4, not phase 5.
None of his questions added a rule that contradicted an existing one, he merely filled in places that were confusing.
You say : Kevin is adding a rule that says if you get a card that you relocate to somplace else, any monsters must be fought. Ok, that is a possibility.
I say : Kevin is merely extending the phase 2 end of movement conditions to phase 3, stating if a player moves for any reason in phase 3 he is subject to all the end of movement conditions from phase 2.
I am not saying we add retainers because of a slider move card, i am saying he is extending the end of movement conditions found in phase 2 to phase 3.
So, in my opinion, and i am allowed my opinion, he was not trying to contradict his own game rules, he was trying to clear up a question on a movement based card : does it count as movement ending conditions for all intents and purposes, or am i teleported to the location?
I do realize that there is more than one way to interpret what he said, and as long as you admit it as well, we can agree to different interpretations.
In my mind, why in the world would kevin make us backtrack to phase 2 and resolve a phase 2 action before resolving a phase 3 card draw? that makes no sense.
And that, to me, if we look at it in context with all the other question and answer format entries, none of them added rule x when rule y clearly said rule x was illegal.
You are suggesting he added something into a FaQ that was intended to ramp up the difficulty of the game, and i simply do not agree. That is not the way i have seen him work. He adds options such as heralds and scenarios, and in a FaQ he would not add something that went against the rules, in order to make it harder. That simply is not the place for that.
I think he was trying to clarify the card, and tell us it said :
If a card says move to someplace else, you move as if you were moving during the movement phase to that new location, and of course you fight/evade monsters that are there, and then are drawn through the gate.
Thats my interpretation, and i think it matches the context of the book better than yours, and of course if i am moving as if i am moving during the movement phase, that includes clue tokens.