Jump to content



Photo

Rules question


  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 ffgfan

ffgfan

    Member

  • Members
  • 745 posts

Posted 14 March 2011 - 10:56 PM

Ok, so I readed through the rules and got a few questions:

1) If a Hero's is discarded from play does his resource pool stay? I'm asking becouse I had this funny though when I readed the rules that it can but logic says that it can't be possible.

2) If a players deck ends and he has no more card that he can draw - does he got a chance to shuffle the discard pile back?



#2 servant of the secret fire

servant of the secret fire

    Member

  • Members
  • 410 posts

Posted 14 March 2011 - 11:42 PM

ffgfan said:

Ok, so I readed through the rules and got a few questions:

1) If a Hero's is discarded from play does his resource pool stay? I'm asking becouse I had this funny though when I readed the rules that it can but logic says that it can't be possible.

2) If a players deck ends and he has no more card that he can draw - does he got a chance to shuffle the discard pile back?

About your second question if i remember well you cant shuffle your discard pile.You must continue your game with only the cards you have in play.On the other hand wen the shadow deck ends you must shuffle shadow discard pile back.



#3 Toqtamish

Toqtamish

    Toqtamish

  • Members
  • 3,003 posts

Posted 15 March 2011 - 03:58 AM

ffgfan said:

 

Ok, so I readed through the rules and got a few questions:

1) If a Hero's is discarded from play does his resource pool stay? I'm asking becouse I had this funny though when I read the rules that it can but logic says that it can't be possible.

2) If a players deck ends and he has no more card that he can draw - does he got a chance to shuffle the discard pile back?

 

 

 

1) I would go with no as its attached to that hero; and in game of thrones things like power, gold etc attached to a character goes when the character dies.

2) No, rule is on page 25. "Running Out of Cards
If a player runs out of cards in his player deck, he
continues to play the game with the cards he has in play
and in his hand. He does not reshuffle his discard pile.
If the encounter deck is ever out of cards during the
quest phase, the encounter discard pile is shuffled and
reset back into the encounter deck."



#4 ffgfan

ffgfan

    Member

  • Members
  • 745 posts

Posted 15 March 2011 - 09:47 PM

Toqtamish said:

1) I would go with no as its attached to that hero; and in game of thrones things like power, gold etc attached to a character goes when the character dies.

2) No, rule is on page 25. "Running Out of Cards
If a player runs out of cards in his player deck, he
continues to play the game with the cards he has in play
and in his hand. He does not reshuffle his discard pile.
If the encounter deck is ever out of cards during the
quest phase, the encounter discard pile is shuffled and
reset back into the encounter deck."

Thanks, I couldn't find that second importent information.

I wish the game would show a lot sooner then end of April/ first week of May.



#5 Dasor

Dasor

    Member

  • Members
  • 20 posts

Posted 16 March 2011 - 12:18 PM

If a Hero's is discarded from play does his resource pool stay? I'm asking becouse I had this funny though when I readed the rules that it can but logic says that it can't be possible.

 

no, it's not possibile, because every resource token must have a sphere of influence, if the hero with spirit sphere dies, all the resources that he generated are thrown away, and if they aren't thrown away then you have a number of no-sphere resource that cannot be used, a bit useless xD



#6 servant of the secret fire

servant of the secret fire

    Member

  • Members
  • 410 posts

Posted 16 March 2011 - 01:08 PM

I like the rules and now i can understand how good this game is.Best think is the hidden shadow cards on minions.I like this concept a lot.

A co-op card game is more interesting than i thought.



#7 Saintsman

Saintsman

    Member

  • Members
  • 46 posts

Posted 16 March 2011 - 02:19 PM

The hidden shadow card reminds me of Star Wars CCG's destiny mechanic, except that only the 'bad guys' get to use it and it may really, really hurt you.



#8 radioboyeric

radioboyeric

    Member

  • Members
  • 45 posts

Posted 17 March 2011 - 01:36 AM

What happens when no characters commit to a quest? Do characters have to commit to a quest? The answer is probably right in front of me but am I missing something?



#9 Toqtamish

Toqtamish

    Toqtamish

  • Members
  • 3,003 posts

Posted 17 March 2011 - 01:48 AM

radioboyeric said:

What happens when no characters commit to a quest? Do characters have to commit to a quest? The answer is probably right in front of me but am I missing something?

 

Threat levels would rise by quite a bit in that case depending on the current threat strength as it would compare against 0 for the characters.



#10 Bohemond

Bohemond

    Member

  • Members
  • 566 posts

Posted 17 March 2011 - 03:34 AM

The game forces you to remember your ABQs (Always be Questing).



#11 Sisyphus

Sisyphus

    Member

  • Members
  • 27 posts

Posted 17 March 2011 - 05:04 AM

radioboyeric said:

What happens when no characters commit to a quest? Do characters have to commit to a quest? The answer is probably right in front of me but am I missing something?

 

The answer is on page 14 of the rulebook under Quest Resolution:

"If the (enemy combined threat strength) is higher, the players have unsuccessfully quested, and they are driven back by the encounter deck.  Each player must raise his threat dial by the amount by which the (enemy combined threat strength) was higher than the combined willpower strength of all committed characters."

 

In other words, when no characters commit to a quest your effective willpower strength is zero (as noted earlier) thus forcing you to take the full brunt of the enemy threat..  Characters do not HAVE to quest, but the game gives plenty of incentive to do so.   



#12 radioboyeric

radioboyeric

    Member

  • Members
  • 45 posts

Posted 17 March 2011 - 05:04 AM

Gotcha...and well put Bohemund!

I can here Alec Baldwin saying that in Glen Gary Glen Ross; "ABQ...Always Be Questing"



#13 qwertyuiop

qwertyuiop

    Member

  • Members
  • 815 posts

Posted 17 March 2011 - 02:53 PM

radioboyeric said:

Gotcha...and well put Bohemund!

I can here Alec Baldwin saying that in Glen Gary Glen Ross; "ABQ...Always Be Questing"

1st Prize is the freedom of Middle-Earth...

2nd Prize is a set of steak knives.



#14 radioboyeric

radioboyeric

    Member

  • Members
  • 45 posts

Posted 18 March 2011 - 12:21 AM

I'm glad someone out there saw that movie and got the joke.

"Go...To...LUNCH"!!!



#15 ffgfan

ffgfan

    Member

  • Members
  • 745 posts

Posted 05 April 2011 - 09:55 AM

After reading the rules and some discutions with my friends I got some new questions that need clarification.

1) Quest phase - does the Treat count only from the Enemies and Locations  in the staging area or does we also count the Enemies engaged with players?

2)  Does the Proggress tokens pass on the next Quest card if we got more than it needs? Let's say for example that We can play 9 progress tokens on Flies & Spiders that needs only 8, does this 1 progress token on the next stage of the scenario?

3) can we end the game engaged with Enemies?



#16 Bohemond

Bohemond

    Member

  • Members
  • 566 posts

Posted 05 April 2011 - 10:17 AM

1) You only count threat in the staging area.  Once you travel to a location or engage an enemy, it no longer directly interferes with questing.  The Hill troll punching you in the face causes other problems, but at least you do not have to deal with threat.

2)  No, progress does not carry over from one quest to the next.  It can carry over from locations to the quest itself, but not from one step of the quest to another.

3) Unless the goals say otherwise, yep.



#17 ffgfan

ffgfan

    Member

  • Members
  • 745 posts

Posted 05 April 2011 - 09:09 PM

Thanks for the fast replay. It is very heplful.



#18 Tyrosh

Tyrosh

    Member

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 17 April 2011 - 03:29 AM

I would like to use this thread to get rid of my questions, too

 

Many cards in the player´s deck state things like "Attach to a hero" or "After a character is declared as defender".

Let´s take the first example. Can I attach this card only to heroes I control or also to heroes of the other player?

The same question for the second example. Am I able to play this event card when my partner declares a character as a defender, or only when I declare one of my characters as a defender?

I am not quite sure, but I think I stumbled over a card that was explicitly limited to characters controled by you. That would strengthten my position that cards that are not explicitly limited to your character, can be also played on the characters of the second player. What do you think?



#19 Bohemond

Bohemond

    Member

  • Members
  • 566 posts

Posted 17 April 2011 - 03:57 AM

You can absolutely play cards on your allies.  Unless specific restrictions prevent you, uses your cards to help other players.  Remember, it is supposed to be a cooperative game.



#20 Tyrosh

Tyrosh

    Member

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 17 April 2011 - 04:07 AM

Thanks for the reply. That sounds awesome. So practically there should be no downtime even when your partner does his actions. I am more and more convinced that this is the LCG I have been always wating for.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS