What do you think about this?
*Everybody starts with 3 tokens (disasters are shuffled back), and one random gets assigned to each npcs.
*Brig and Sickbay doesn't give you trauma.
*When you encounter an ally and you get disaster, you roll a die:
1-2 executed, 3-4 brig, 5-7 sickbay, 8 nothing (the npc kills you, has you arrested, punches you out or nothing)
*When you draw a disaster by yourself that roll becomes:
1-4 executed, 5-8 sickbay (you get blown up and either survive or not)
*After encountering an ally you place one of your tokens on the newly drawn character.
*For damaged locations the cylon players place just as in the original rules.
At distance 8 (or when galactica returns to NC -- YES YOU CAN PLAY IT WITH NC) everyone shows their tokens and count them up: positive (benevolent for humans and the other for cylons) counts +1, the other counts -1.
-3 and lower: you are executed.
-1 and -2 : discard 2/4 skill cards from your hand
1 and 2: draw 2/4 skill cards of any color (may come outside of your skill set)
3 and higher: turn 1 resource by one in any direction.
(if a resource is reduced to 0, another player can move it up to 1, so humans only lose after everyone acted)
After that, allies are taken off the table and no new trauma can be gained.
* No boxing at the end of the game (I HATE THAT)
* no stupid Crossroads cards (they are seriously worse then CL agendas...)
* Revealed cylons have less to worry about having to "shoot the npcs"
* you get to keep the NPCs, maybe even use them on NC
* less trauma gained during the game (since no brig or sickbay trauma - so you won't get rewarded for sitting in the brig).
To balance this con, maybe the following can be implemented: after placing a token on a newly drawn npc draw a new trauma token from the token pool or discard a random skill card.
On a similiar note, I once had a game where the three initial npcs went to Administration, Armory and Brig, so we never met any of them during the game!!! So if I'm altering the npc rules I'll add this little tidbit: Anyone can discard two skill cards during his turn to discard an npc and draw a new one - BUT KEEP THE TOKEN on it.
Any downside or thematic imbalance I missed?