Jump to content



Photo

Gandalf free for all?


  • Please log in to reply
61 replies to this topic

#1 servant of the secret fire

servant of the secret fire

    Member

  • Members
  • 410 posts

Posted 08 March 2011 - 04:06 PM

We can use him with any hero?Cause i dont see a sphere icon on his card.



#2 YGrams

YGrams

    Member

  • Members
  • 31 posts

Posted 08 March 2011 - 04:09 PM

As he is an ally, you need to pay x amount of resources to put him into play. As he does not have a sphere, this means you can use resources from any heroes, from any sphere, to pay for him. For example, you could pay 1 from Aragorn, 2 from Denethor and 2 from Gimli, even though they are of different spheres (assuming Gandalf's cost is 5; I have a feeling it is, but it probably isn't, knowing my memory).



#3 servant of the secret fire

servant of the secret fire

    Member

  • Members
  • 410 posts

Posted 08 March 2011 - 04:31 PM

YGrams said:

As he is an ally, you need to pay x amount of resources to put him into play. As he does not have a sphere, this means you can use resources from any heroes, from any sphere, to pay for him. For example, you could pay 1 from Aragorn, 2 from Denethor and 2 from Gimli, even though they are of different spheres (assuming Gandalf's cost is 5; I have a feeling it is, but it probably isn't, knowing my memory).

I see.Thanks a lot for your reply.

Gandalf needs 6 resources to put him in play .



#4 BeardFan

BeardFan

    Member

  • Members
  • 72 posts

Posted 08 March 2011 - 09:56 PM

If I remember correctly, they changed Gandalf's cost from 6 in the early preview to 5 in the finished game.



#5 servant of the secret fire

servant of the secret fire

    Member

  • Members
  • 410 posts

Posted 09 March 2011 - 04:45 AM

BeardFan said:

If I remember correctly, they changed Gandalf's cost from 6 in the early preview to 5 in the finished game.

Forget my comment then.Less cost is allways better



#6 Narsil0420

Narsil0420

    Member

  • Members
  • 530 posts

Posted 09 March 2011 - 10:47 AM

I don't know... It still says 6 on both the home and description page. But if BeardFan saw it, I trust him.



#7 mason240

mason240

    Member

  • Members
  • 163 posts

Posted 09 March 2011 - 02:59 PM

YGrams said:

As he is an ally, you need to pay x amount of resources to put him into play. As he does not have a sphere, this means you can use resources from any heroes, from any sphere, to pay for him. For example, you could pay 1 from Aragorn, 2 from Denethor and 2 from Gimli, even though they are of different spheres (assuming Gandalf's cost is 5; I have a feeling it is, but it probably isn't, knowing my memory).

 

This look like a good spot to plug my site :)     Gandalf at lotrlcg.com



#8 Narsil0420

Narsil0420

    Member

  • Members
  • 530 posts

Posted 09 March 2011 - 03:15 PM

mason240 said:

This look like a good spot to plug my site :)     Gandalf at lotrlcg.com

Except, you have the old Gandalf card when they still had the symbols instead of the text saying istari or wizard. Make sure to update it once we get the final card. Thanks for your work!



#9 BeardFan

BeardFan

    Member

  • Members
  • 72 posts

Posted 09 March 2011 - 08:12 PM

 Yeah, that's the old card. The response is also changed on the new card, I think it was not kill an enemy but inflict 4 damage now. And note that on the final cards, the willpower symbol is the top symbol now on the left side.



#10 servant of the secret fire

servant of the secret fire

    Member

  • Members
  • 410 posts

Posted 11 March 2011 - 12:23 AM

BeardFan said:

 Yeah, that's the old card. The response is also changed on the new card, I think it was not kill an enemy but inflict 4 damage now. And note that on the final cards, the willpower symbol is the top symbol now on the left side.

So Gandalf now plays with heroes with the willpower sphere?And about the response you still must discard Gandalf at the end of the turn?



#11 BeardFan

BeardFan

    Member

  • Members
  • 72 posts

Posted 11 March 2011 - 12:52 AM

No, you misunderstood me. Gandalf is a neutral card. The sphere you mean is spirit. Willpower is on of the 3 attributes of each character. What I meant is that on the prototype cards the first symbol was Attack, then Defense, then Willpower. On the final cards it's first Willpower, then Attack, then Defense.



#12 servant of the secret fire

servant of the secret fire

    Member

  • Members
  • 410 posts

Posted 11 March 2011 - 01:36 AM

BeardFan said:

No, you misunderstood me. Gandalf is a neutral card. The sphere you mean is spirit. Willpower is on of the 3 attributes of each character. What I meant is that on the prototype cards the first symbol was Attack, then Defense, then Willpower. On the final cards it's first Willpower, then Attack, then Defense.

Oh i see.Thanks for the reply.Is there a posibility we will see Gandalf as a hero and not only as an ally?



#13 jhaelen

jhaelen

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,025 posts

Posted 13 March 2011 - 09:57 PM

servant of the secret fire said:

 

Oh i see.Thanks for the reply.Is there a posibility we will see Gandalf as a hero and not only as an ally?

Everything is possible I suppose, but I don't really think so. Gandalf would have to be too powerful to be a faithful representation of the character we know from the novels. You'd lose the game before even starting it since your threat rating would be too high



#14 servant of the secret fire

servant of the secret fire

    Member

  • Members
  • 410 posts

Posted 14 March 2011 - 11:37 AM

jhaelen said:

 

servant of the secret fire said:

 

 

Oh i see.Thanks for the reply.Is there a posibility we will see Gandalf as a hero and not only as an ally?

 

Everything is possible I suppose, but I don't really think so. Gandalf would have to be too powerful to be a faithful representation of the character we know from the novels. You'd lose the game before even starting it since your threat rating would be too high

 

 

 

Then i think the same think counts for Lady Galadriel:The power that dwelt there was to grate for any to overcome,unless Sauron had come there himself.



#15 servant of the secret fire

servant of the secret fire

    Member

  • Members
  • 410 posts

Posted 14 March 2011 - 03:02 PM

We have the rules now.Only one copy of Gandalf each player can have in his deck.



#16 Toqtamish

Toqtamish

    Toqtamish

  • Members
  • 2,764 posts

Posted 14 March 2011 - 03:11 PM

No, 3 per deck.

"Additionally, no more than three copies of any card, by
title, can be included in a player’s deck. Within these
guidelines any combination of allies, attachments, and
events can be used in the player deck."



#17 servant of the secret fire

servant of the secret fire

    Member

  • Members
  • 410 posts

Posted 14 March 2011 - 03:32 PM

Toqtamish said:

No, 3 per deck.

"Additionally, no more than three copies of any card, by
title, can be included in a player’s deck. Within these
guidelines any combination of allies, attachments, and
events can be used in the player deck."

I think i saw in the rules that Gandalf is the only free for all card in the core set and you can have only one copy of him in your deck.I ll check again.



#18 servant of the secret fire

servant of the secret fire

    Member

  • Members
  • 410 posts

Posted 14 March 2011 - 03:51 PM

Each starter deck should also include one copy of the neutral ally card,Gandalf(card 73).

Maybe this rule is only for starter decks and you can have 3 copys of Gandalf in a customize deck?Please explain that to me cause you allready know that my English sucks .



#19 Lausus

Lausus

    Member

  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 14 March 2011 - 06:14 PM

The quote you found is simply informing players that each deck will come with one Gandalf card already in it. But that doesn't mean you can't add more copies when you create your own custom decks. When building a deck, you can have up to three Gandalfs (or any other card).



#20 servant of the secret fire

servant of the secret fire

    Member

  • Members
  • 410 posts

Posted 14 March 2011 - 06:45 PM

Lausus said:

The quote you found is simply informing players that each deck will come with one Gandalf card already in it. But that doesn't mean you can't add more copies when you create your own custom decks. When building a deck, you can have up to three Gandalfs (or any other card).

Thanks a lot Lausus.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS