Jump to content



Photo

Question from First Playthrough


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 dante42

dante42

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 05 March 2011 - 03:18 AM

Last night we had our first run through. We had a full compliment of people and the game is a lot of fun. We ran into one small snag with our dear keeper though.

Can the UncontrollableUrges keeper card be used to make a character with a shotgun shoot the other people?

Twelve threat later and the game is not as fun. The next round he hit us again four times. Finally the two gun wielders dropped thier guns and we all scattered around the board to avoid this.



#2 Laurence J Sinclair

Laurence J Sinclair

    Member

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 05 March 2011 - 03:24 AM

Scenario 5 specifically mentions that the keeper can make players attack each other, implying that it's not allowed in the earlier ones.



#3 Brine

Brine

    Member

  • Members
  • 296 posts

Posted 05 March 2011 - 04:03 AM

Considering the attack action for an investigator is limited to attacking monsters, I doubt that is a legal move.



#4 dvang

dvang

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,239 posts

Posted 05 March 2011 - 06:10 AM

Laurence J Sinclair said:

Scenario 5 specifically mentions that the keeper can make players attack each other, implying that it's not allowed in the earlier ones.

This. Unless specifically stated/exceptioned, such as with scenario #5, the Keeper cannot make players attack other players because they are not normally considered monsters, and the investigator action is for attacking monsters.



#5 FrostyWolf

FrostyWolf

    Member

  • Members
  • 40 posts

Posted 05 March 2011 - 06:44 AM

Read the errata card that comes with the game.   I says right on it that you can only use Uncontrollable urges on a VALID target.  A player attacking a player is NOT a valid target.  The expample it gives is a player using a sedative on another player that doesn't have tramua.



#6 Athenor

Athenor

    Member

  • Members
  • 55 posts

Posted 05 March 2011 - 10:36 AM

Here's my question from my first game:

 

Is there anything stopping you from playing multiple movements all at once? I was doing scenario 1B of the Fall of House Lynch, and I started my turn by placing the 2nd sample on the altar (do I need to activate the card to do this?), then used my stockpiled 10 threat to book the shoggoth to the victory condition. It seemed insane that I could beeline like that, as the players had no recourse.. but they were also taking their sweet time exploring as well and I always stockpiled my threat for wild-ass runs with the maniacs.



#7 Apophenia

Apophenia

    Member

  • Members
  • 131 posts

Posted 05 March 2011 - 10:52 AM

 Command Minion does say "You may only use this card once per monster each game round." This would prevent the Shoggoth from moving more then 2 spaces. (A Maniac could move 3 spaces because Take Sample lets you move one space.)



#8 Athenor

Athenor

    Member

  • Members
  • 55 posts

Posted 05 March 2011 - 11:02 AM

Oh wow. How did I miss that? I feel like an idiot now.



#9 Kazi

Kazi

    Member

  • Members
  • 41 posts

Posted 05 March 2011 - 01:32 PM

My scenario 5 states that "The keeper may not use Uncontrollable Urges to make an investigator attack another investigator with a spell", and uncontrollable urges read "you may move him to an adjacent space or force him to resolve an action from 1 of his spell, equipment, artifact, or tome cards." By reading these I'd have to say that you cannot use uncontrollable urges to attack players but in all scenarios (with the exception of 5), use could use it to make a player cast a harmful spell on another player.



#10 snowedunder

snowedunder

    Member

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 05 March 2011 - 01:39 PM

Shrivelling and bind monster specifically target monsters....not investigators.  Its impossible to make an investigator cast shrivelling on another investigator.  



#11 Kazi

Kazi

    Member

  • Members
  • 41 posts

Posted 05 March 2011 - 04:31 PM

Yes, the spell would need a valid target, however in scenario 5 the other players may "attack each other as if they were humanoid monsters". But the keeper cannot make an investigator attack another with a spell while using "uncontrollable urges". However, if a player chose to attack another player on their turn with a spell I think (in scenario 5) that they could.



#12 Mr. K

Mr. K

    Member

  • Members
  • 90 posts

Posted 06 March 2011 - 10:10 AM

 The only way I see to make an Investigator attack another is through the 'Friend?' Trauma card. 

K xx






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS