Jump to content



Photo

Infinite threat? Scenario 4


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Flashfires

Flashfires

    Member

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 04 March 2011 - 06:40 AM

In the fourth scenario, the keeper has the Uncontrollable Urges action and one of the exploration cards placed on the board is the Ceremonial Skull (full text listed below).  I've been puzzling over these two cards, as it seems to allow the keeper to generate an infinite loop of threat gain.  Yes, I realize the Skull does not always come out in the Keeper's favor, but the best odds for investigators are only 50/50 while the best odds for the Keeper range up to 80/20.  Any help or work arounds to this problem would be appreciated.

 

Uncontrollable Urges (Threat Cost 2)

Keeper Action

Action: Choose an investigator.  You may then move him to an adjacent space or force him to resolve an action from 1 of his Spell, equipment, artifact, or tome cards.  You make all required choices.

---

Ceremonial Skull

Artifact

Gain +2 Lore

Action: Test your Luck.

Pass: Gain 3 skill points.

Fail: Keeper gains 4 threat.



#2 dvang

dvang

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,242 posts

Posted 04 March 2011 - 08:28 AM

You should probably shoot this question to FFG (use the rules questions link).

Personally, I think that the action/item forced to be used can only be done once per player. So, you could only force a player to use the skull once per turn.



#3 Brine

Brine

    Member

  • Members
  • 296 posts

Posted 04 March 2011 - 01:51 PM

I don't understand how you could get infinite threat. They still take the test and can pass.



#4 dvang

dvang

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,242 posts

Posted 04 March 2011 - 08:06 PM

Brine said:

 

I don't understand how you could get infinite threat. They still take the test and can pass.

 

 

If the investigator fails the roll, the Keeper has spent 2 threat and gains 4 threat, for a total of +2 threat.  The Keeper then spends another 2 threat to cause the investigator to use the skull again. Should the investigator fail that roll, the keeper has gained another +2 threat. Keep going, as long as the investigator keeps failing the roll the Keeper will be gaining a net +2 threat per time. that is how it is "infinite" threat.

Considering it is a Luck roll, which is a value anywhere from 2-5, with the average investigator having about a 3, and the fact that you cannot use a skill point to add to Luck tests, the chances of the investigator failing are pretty good.

Even if the investigator passes after failing a couple times, the Keeper can just do it again.

that's why I would probably suggest just only allowing the Keeper to force the use of a specific object once per turn. <shrug> Or, you could add +1 to the test for each subsequent use in the turn, making it more 'dangerous' for the Keeper to keep forcing the test, and more likely for the investigator to succeed.



#5 SmokeGunner

SmokeGunner

    Member

  • Members
  • 57 posts

Posted 04 March 2011 - 10:42 PM

To my mind, logic would dictate  the following:

How many times can a player's investigator use the skull in his or her own turn: once (as an action)

Ergo, if the player's investigator is "compelled" to use the skull in the Keeper's turn, he or she can only be compelled to use it once.

Presumably, use of the skull takes a finite amount of time, so the Keeper should not be allowed to compel someone to use it multiple times per turn.



#6 FrostyWolf

FrostyWolf

    Member

  • Members
  • 40 posts

Posted 05 March 2011 - 12:39 AM

Excatly.  You can not give your player multiple actions per turn with the Uncontrollable Urges Keeper Action card.  






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS