Jump to content



Photo

Doppelgänger returning to hand


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 EchPiEl

EchPiEl

    Member

  • Members
  • 70 posts

Posted 02 March 2011 - 03:48 PM

The question is simple: Does Doppelgänger still return to hand when the character it has copied leaves play?. The F.A.Q. is not clear about the rest of it's text, apart from the "printed copy" issue. Is the rest of it's text efectively erased by the F.A.Q. errata?



#2 jhaelen

jhaelen

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,049 posts

Posted 02 March 2011 - 08:18 PM

EchPiEl said:

The question is simple: Does Doppelgänger still return to hand when the character it has copied leaves play?

Of course!



#3 Dadajef

Dadajef

    Member

  • Members
  • 294 posts

Posted 02 March 2011 - 11:01 PM

Not since the faq the text of the card is now :

Doppelgänger (F79)
Should read: “When you play
Doppelgänger from your hand, choose a non unique
character in play with printed cost X or
lower. Doppelgänger becomes a printed copy
of that character.”

The Doppel doesn't return in your hand.



#4 jhaelen

jhaelen

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,049 posts

Posted 03 March 2011 - 08:39 AM

Dadajef said:

The Doppel doesn't return in your hand.

Well, I'll be damned.

I didn't realize the text was supposed to replace the entire text. So, the errata wasn't a clarification but a nerf!



#5 KallistiBRC

KallistiBRC

    Member

  • Members
  • 322 posts

Posted 03 March 2011 - 10:43 AM

You *could* argue that they were just fixing the relevant part and left the "when it leaves play" unchanged since it's the last part of the text box.   But yeah, that's not what they wrote sadly.



#6 Tokhuah

Tokhuah

    Member

  • Members
  • 480 posts

Posted 12 March 2011 - 06:10 PM

More stable vs. less comboriffic.  Not sure how I feel about this, but the removal of the bouncing effect does seem legitimately gone...



#7 Glendora

Glendora

    Member

  • Members
  • 26 posts

Posted 21 November 2011 - 11:08 AM

But then, Doppelgänger stays in play as a copy of the chosen card even if the copied card leaves play? =D

By the way, is this card still restricted, with this new text?

 



#8 jhaelen

jhaelen

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,049 posts

Posted 21 November 2011 - 08:29 PM

Glendora said:

But then, Doppelgänger stays in play as a copy of the chosen card even if the copied card leaves play? =D

By the way, is this card still restricted, with this new text?

 

Well, the above info was actually wrong, which is why the new FAQ (2.0) includes the complete revised card text:

Doppelgänger (F79)
Should read: “When you play
Doppelgänger from your hand, choose a
non-unique character in play with printed
cost X or lower. Doppelgänger becomes
a printed copy of that character. If that
character leaves play return Doppelganger
to your hand.”

And yes, the card is still restricted.



#9 Glendora

Glendora

    Member

  • Members
  • 26 posts

Posted 22 November 2011 - 04:29 AM

thanks for the answer!

=)






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS