Jump to content



Photo

Rules Question: Invader


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 The Vidiot

The Vidiot

    Member

  • Members
  • 20 posts

Posted 20 February 2011 - 03:19 PM

 We played with the Invader last night, and two rules questions came up:

1. When you draw the Invader destiny card, does that count as a separate encounter, or an event that happens in the middle of the regular encounter? Here’s the situation we ran into:

a. I start my turn with two cards. I can’t refresh my hand (obviously) because I have encounter cards.

b. I draw the Invader destiny card.

c. Invader attacks me, and plays a Negotiate.

d. Invader goes to the Warp, and takes my two cards as compensation.

e. I now continue my turn, but I have no encounter cards available.

According to a strict reading of the rules, I can’t draw a new hand, because it’s not the start of my turn. But I also can’t continue, because when the offense has no more encounter cards available, his turn ends immediately. It seems like I should be able to draw a new hand, because it seems against the spirit of the Invader power that it would replace my turn, instead of just interrupting it.

2. Does the Invader take a ship from the warp after the Invader destiny card is drawn?

 

Thanks!



#2 The Warp

The Warp

    Member

  • Members
  • 312 posts

Posted 21 February 2011 - 12:51 AM

We play that the interrupted player's turn is rest altogether, so you do get another regroup, and if it was start of turn, you get to draw a new hand.  If it was your second encounter that was interrupted, then your turn is over if you don't have encounter cards any more.

Invader on the other hand is already at the destiny phase since he knows who he's attacking, and just proceeds from there.



#3 Zomber

Zomber

    Member

  • Members
  • 21 posts

Posted 22 February 2011 - 07:26 AM

The Vidiot said:

 

e. I now continue my turn, but I have no encounter cards available.

I think the problem is trying to continue the turn where you left off at destiny.  The Invader power it says:

After you have an extra encounter due to an "Invasion!" destiny card, the player who drew it during his or her turn receives another encounter.

So instead of trying to continue where you left off, the original player whould start their encounter from 'Start Turn' if it's their 1st encounter as offense.



#4 Kobold Curry Chef

Kobold Curry Chef

    Member

  • Members
  • 166 posts

Posted 23 February 2011 - 08:34 AM

Yep.  If the Invader "bonus" encounter happens between your first and second encounters, you could be screwed out of a second encounter, but not otherwise.

Invader's a jerk like that. (But so far in our games, he hasn't been able to win or even seem like a threat.)






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS