Jump to content



Photo

Entering the Catacombs Rules Question


  • Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 Edix

Edix

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 05 February 2011 - 03:31 PM

When A player enters the catacombs at the start of there turn, instead of moving or searching, do they draw a catacombs card? Or do they only draw catacomb cards at the start of there turn?

Example:

Player draws "Passage Down" or encounters a Catacombs room.
On the players next turn they chooses to "Enter the Catacombs" instead of moving or searching.
Do they:
A) Enter the Catacombs. On there next turn draw a Catacombs Card.
B) Enter the Catacombs and draw a Catacombs card.

 

The way the rules read (page 21) it would seem that 'A' it the correct rule.

"When a Hero encounters a Dungeon or
Search card called “Passage Down,” he
may enter the Catacombs on his next turn
instead of moving or searching."

"When a Hero encounters a Catacomb Entrance chamber or a
Dungeon chamber with a catacomb entrance marker, he finds a path
down to the Catacombs. The Hero must encounter the chamber as
normal, drawing a Dungeon card and resolving it as usual. However,
on the Hero’s next turn, he can choose to enter the Catacombs
instead of moving or searching."

"Heroes in the Catacombs do not move or search like Heroes exploring
the dungeon above. Instead,
a Hero in the Catacombs must draw
a Catacomb card at the start of each of his turns."

 

I have found no other section in the rules that describe when a player draws a card for Catacombs other than this one line. (Above in bold)



#2 Dam

Dam

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,300 posts

Posted 05 February 2011 - 08:39 PM

Edix said:

When A player enters the catacombs at the start of there turn, instead of moving or searching, do they draw a catacombs card? Or do they only draw catacomb cards at the start of there turn?

Example:

Player draws "Passage Down" or encounters a Catacombs room.
On the players next turn they chooses to "Enter the Catacombs" instead of moving or searching.
Do they:
A) Enter the Catacombs. On there next turn draw a Catacombs Card.
B) Enter the Catacombs and draw a Catacombs card.

 

Would have to go with A because you did not start your turn in the Catacombs, you only moved down there. Note that this is different from falling off the Bridge, in which case you end your falling turn in the Catacombs already, so on your next turn are already there.


"A dirty mind is its own reward."





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS