Jump to content



Photo

Defense lasers, order/combat card precedence...


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Artemis

Artemis

    Member

  • Members
  • 130 posts

Posted 23 January 2011 - 09:13 PM

Hello, following  2 problems arose in our last game:

1) Do defense lasers shoot at Chaos forces that fly FROM a spaceport TO Vengeful Spirit? Rules cover a situation for INBOUND units, which I understand as a direction FROM Vengeful Spirit TO a spaceport. But taken logicaly they should be able to shoot on both types (directions) of transports.

2) When there is a contradiction between a combat card and an order card, which takes precedence?

a) Order card Frenzied assault  vs. combat card Strategic withdrawal. RA says that units that rout or retreat are instead killed, while SW enables you to withdraw, but also specifies that this move is not supposed neither a retreat nor a rout, so it is clear.

b) Another example: Again Frenzied assault vs. the combat card Know no fear, that enables Space marines, instead of their killing, to move them to an adjacent area with 2 wounds. Does RA effect kill them or not ? Similar situation is with a combat card Buy time.

What do you think about it? Thanks for your feedback.

 



#2 redsimon

redsimon

    Member

  • Members
  • 226 posts

Posted 26 January 2011 - 06:10 AM

1) No, they don't. It might be more realistic if they did, but the rules don't allow it, and I think it's for the better. It is more interesting and cool to shoot at troops incoming from above.
Note that that would be a reason for traitors to man Defence Lasers (to shoot down the Emperor's forces when he tries to board Vengeful Spirit; I know they are not allowed to).

2)
a) This one is clear, as you said.
b) This one is clear as well. Know no Fear says "place" not rout or retreat. So Frenzied Assault has no influence on this effect. Buy Time says "move" which signifies the same: No influence of Frenzied Assault on this effect.
As you see, Frenzied Assault can only influence effects that use the words "rout" or "retreat".



#3 Artemis

Artemis

    Member

  • Members
  • 130 posts

Posted 26 January 2011 - 11:53 PM

redsimon said:

2)
a) This one is clear, as you said.
b) This one is clear as well. Know no Fear says "place" not rout or retreat. So Frenzied Assault has no influence on this effect. Buy Time says "move" which signifies the same: No influence of Frenzied Assault on this effect.
As you see, Frenzied Assault can only influence effects that use the words "rout" or "retreat".

What a pity

Thus Imperial boys have still enough possibilities (cards, mentioned above) how to escape from a neatly woven web of  Chaos forces.

 



#4 Dam

Dam

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,291 posts

Posted 27 January 2011 - 03:45 AM

Let them escape, you don't need to kill them (if you do, it's a welcome bonus of course), you just need the four Spaceports .


"A dirty mind is its own reward."


#5 redsimon

redsimon

    Member

  • Members
  • 226 posts

Posted 31 January 2011 - 03:00 AM

Also there is no escape from a well-aimed orbital bombardment.



#6 solitear

solitear

    Member

  • Members
  • 58 posts

Posted 14 June 2011 - 04:46 PM

 OR EVEN A POORLY AIMED WITH THE LUCK MY PLAY PARTNER HAS WITH reckless bombardments :P






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS