Jump to content



Photo

Several questions


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 TheKingOfBlades

TheKingOfBlades

    Member

  • Members
  • 196 posts

Posted 20 January 2011 - 06:08 PM

The goblin ostrich riders come with blue and green banners. When deploying them in call to arms with a specialist card do I get to choose if the ostrich riders are blue are green banner troops?

Do you gain lore on an opponent's turn when you battle back and roll a lore symbol or if you battle back and kill an opponent's creature?

Do ogres have the same racial ability as other goblin troops such as goblin run and goblin rush?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.



#2 Boromir_and_kermit

Boromir_and_kermit

    Member

  • Members
  • 71 posts

Posted 20 January 2011 - 07:26 PM

Goblin Ostrich Riders are only Green Banners - the blue was a mistake in packaging. DOW sent out Green replacements when that happened.

I believe (and we've been playing for years) that you collect Lore tokens whenever you roll a Lore symbol except with the new Battle Savvy rules - there are exceptions when you use that.

I do not think that Ogres have the Goblin inherant abilities due to the bases being grey instead of green like all goblins are. It also provides flags for both pennant and standard (whereas all FFG goblin figures only have one, not both).

I hope that helps. I'm on the iPhone, so can't be 100% sure of my answers, but I'm at least 95% sure. Besides, Todrew and Caboose (among others) will be along to confirm or deny my answers. :D

Cheers,
Ben.



#3 awayputurwpn

awayputurwpn

    Member

  • Members
  • 749 posts

Posted 20 January 2011 - 07:52 PM

Yeah Ostrich riders should be green banner - but I suppose it would be cool if you used the blue banners in conjunction with the Warrior's Training Camp landmark  :) 

As to the Lore Symbols question, anytime you roll a Lore symbol in melee combat you get a lore token, unless you are using a weapon or unit that has specific rules about what a Lore symbol does. You do not collect Lore tokens when lore symbols are rolled in ranged combat.

Also Ogres are not goblins, so do not share racial abilities. They have their own abilities per their rule cards. 



#4 TheKingOfBlades

TheKingOfBlades

    Member

  • Members
  • 196 posts

Posted 21 January 2011 - 04:18 AM

okay cool thanks for the replies.

I assumed that the ogres didn't get the goblin abilities but I thought I'd check because it would be awesome if they could goblin rush.



#5 Caboose

Caboose

    Member

  • Members
  • 312 posts

Posted 23 January 2011 - 06:57 AM

Also if you noticed in the Ogre rules, they mention they are not as big as the Large Orge breathren - which begs the question of when we'll see the Large Ogres (i.e. as a creature).

In regards to rules - what boromir said is correct.    I'll have to check the Goblin expansion (have them all) to see if they did come with green banners or not (the one from FFG...I know the one from DoW did come with blue).

Cab



#6 Pedro Lunaris

Pedro Lunaris

    Member

  • Members
  • 460 posts

Posted 24 January 2011 - 06:31 AM

TheKingOfBlades said:

okay cool thanks for the replies.

I assumed that the ogres didn't get the goblin abilities but I thought I'd check because it would be awesome if they could goblin rush.

 

the rules for the Ogres on HoHo states that they are not goblins, so doesn't have the goblin's racial traits. if I'm not mistaken, it is written there.



#7 Richard Borg

Richard Borg

    Member

  • Members
  • 71 posts

Posted 24 January 2011 - 10:04 AM

 Boromir_and_kermit is indeed correct in his answers.

 Days of Wonder did send out green replacement banners and if you have both we recommend the use the green banners for your Ostrich Riders.

 When Battle Savvy rules are used, I personally recommend that they be used in all BattleLore scenarios, all units collect Lore in melee, but do not collect Lore when doing ranged combat.

 Ogres have their own unique abilities, and although they seem to fight on the side of Goblins most of the time, they do not share any Goblin inherent abilities.

 Richard Borg






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS