Jump to content



Photo

Do hill crests block cavalry charges up or down the hill?


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Newman55f9

Newman55f9

    Member

  • Members
  • 26 posts

Posted 10 January 2011 - 07:07 PM

Do crests block up hill or down hill charges?  The rules are somewhat vague about this and I do not know how steep these crests are supposed to be.



#2 Meta Baston

Meta Baston

    Member

  • Members
  • 88 posts

Posted 11 January 2011 - 04:04 AM

I didn't see nothing about this in the rules. (I know that cavalry were unlikely to charge downhill. I think there should be a house rule about that.)



#3 KlausFritsch

KlausFritsch

    Member

  • Members
  • 734 posts

Posted 11 January 2011 - 05:59 AM

Newman55f9 said:

Do crests block up hill or down hill charges?  The rules are somewhat vague about this and I do not know how steep these crests are supposed to be.

I asked the question to a person demonstrating the game at a convention, and he said it was allowed to charge across crests.



#4 BrooklynMike

BrooklynMike

    Member

  • Members
  • 272 posts

Posted 11 January 2011 - 10:54 AM

 Just remember to do the +1 for downhill or -1 for uphill melee.



#5 BrooklynMike

BrooklynMike

    Member

  • Members
  • 272 posts

Posted 11 January 2011 - 10:54 AM

 Just remember to do the +1 for downhill or -1 for uphill melee.



#6 Olivier Rosseeuw

Olivier Rosseeuw

    Member

  • Members
  • 36 posts

Posted 21 April 2011 - 07:50 PM

Sorry Guys, I'm a bit confusing ...

Cavalry charge must be done on open terrain and Crest hexside is not classified as open terrain for me.



#7 LETE

LETE

    Member

  • Members
  • 682 posts

Posted 23 April 2011 - 06:28 PM

Newman55f9 said:

 

Do crests block up hill or down hill charges?  The rules are somewhat vague about this and I do not know how steep these crests are supposed to be.

 

 

 

If your unit can Fire, you can Fire across a hill Crest.  The one on top gets +1, the one on the bottom gets -1

 

If your unit can Melee, you can Melee across a hill Crest. The one on top gets +1, the one on the bottom gets -1

 

Cavalry cannot Charge across a hill Crest.  Cavalry can only Charge across Open terrain.  Remember that usually the Charge involves a one-hex move.

 

Cavalry can melee on a hill Crest...!

 

Any subsequent Crest hexes block line of sight - this means you cannot shoot (Fire) at those units in other Crests directly adjacent (for instance, with Artillery).

 

Remember that infantry cannot Melee vs cavalry under any circumstances.  They can Fire at the cavalry tho'.

 

 

HtH

L
 



#8 gioSistino

gioSistino

    Member

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 03 August 2011 - 02:21 AM

Cavalry can cross (and charge) through a crest hexside and move (or charge) into an open (flat terrain) hexagon.

 

Crests, hedges, fences are hexsides between two hex. You cannot charge, for example, through a hedge (or crest) into a wood (or village)
 

Sergio G






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS