Jump to content



Photo

Teleports


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 PhilHibbs

PhilHibbs

    Member

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 03 January 2009 - 01:48 PM

If you get teleported during your move, say by the Magic Portal card, do you encounter the space that you teleport to?



#2 PhilHibbs

PhilHibbs

    Member

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 03 January 2009 - 01:56 PM

Also, do you have to obey "land on" instructions such as the Marsh when you teleport through the Magic Portal?



#3 Dam

Dam

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,295 posts

Posted 03 January 2009 - 08:12 PM

Encounter sequence (again) has the answer. The arrow from "does the encounter result in you being moved to a new space?" takes you to the "beginning" of the encounter with space tree. So in the new square, you would choose from possible char encounter or space encounter.


"A dirty mind is its own reward."


#4 jasonk

jasonk

    Member

  • Members
  • 18 posts

Posted 05 January 2009 - 03:02 AM

well if your character is teleported during someone else's turn. then you would simply start from the new position and roll and go, without encountering the new space. (and get to pick which way, clock or otherwise)



#5 JCHendee

JCHendee

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,811 posts

Posted 05 January 2009 - 03:47 AM

If you are teleported during your own turn, then yes an encounter occurs.

If the space you land on has instructions (Crags, City, Tavern, Forest, etc.) and you do not draw an Adventure card... then you follow those instructions. If a character is there, you follow space instructions first (?) then may encounter the character (?)

If the space is for drawing an Adventure card (one or more), then you do so etc... and as others have mentioned.



#6 ameritrasher

ameritrasher

    Member

  • Members
  • 74 posts

Posted 05 January 2009 - 03:04 PM

JCHendee said:

If a character is there, you follow space instructions first (?) then may encounter the character (?)

I think the turn sequence flow chart is pretty clear that you either encounter the space OR a character in the space. I could be wrong but that is certainly what it looks like to me when I follow the arrows.



#7 ImpendingFoil

ImpendingFoil

    Member

  • Members
  • 19 posts

Posted 05 January 2009 - 06:58 PM

You encounter any space you land on during your turn, regardless how many times you get moved around.  So if it is your turn and you land on a space you have to encounter it.

Now if you got moved during someone elses turn then you would not encounter the space and when it was your turn again you would just roll and move from the new location.



#8 JCHendee

JCHendee

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,811 posts

Posted 06 January 2009 - 04:23 AM

ImpendingFoil said:

 

Now if you got moved during someone elses turn then you would not encounter the space and when it was your turn again you would just roll and move from the new location.

 

 

Agreed... my own comment wasn't clear on that part.

We often play a house rule that differs when landing on a card draw space with another character present.  Any drawn or present card with an Enemy, Place, or Stranger must be encountered first.  If it involves an Enemy for combat (Strength or Craft) and the character loses, it doesn't get to attack the other character there. (It got waylaid, got it's butt kick, and is too busy fighting and then licking its wounds).  We've never seen the logic in getting to choose whether one gets jumped by an Enemy or not.

We also have another more calculated option we've tried with some success.  Character versus Character encounters at an Order number of 4 to determine when characters encounter each other versus the order number of cards present or drawn. We likewise rule that any card without an order number (such as Object cards) is Order 7, and can only be picked up after everything else happens.  It makes things more interesting and challenging, and makes facing another character a true challenge (versus some ridiculously automatic abilities some characters have for harassing others). It also creates some occasional and more dramatic (as well as orderly) turnabouts in a game when characters have to face both each other and the threats and surprises of the Adventure cards.

But these are house rules, and not standard to the game.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS