Barb and I are still at loss, even after looking at the alternative documents over at Headless Hollow. So... when is the story die an option or requirement...
- When you land on a gem space without a gem?
- When you land on a gem space with a game?
- When you land on any space that isn't a city?
And about drawing a Legend card...
- In a city if forgoing a market/bazaar phase?
- On a non-gem space instead of a story roll?
It seemed like several different places in the manual contradicted each other... and likely it's affecting in correct use of the sandstorm as well. HELP!
If you end in a space with a gem, you can either go for the Challenge (Adventure Step) or if you don't want to take the Story Step: "Draw a Legendary Quest card, roll the story die, or explore a bazaar." (p. 4)
In a gem space without a gem you can only take the Story Step. Story die can only be rolled outside a town space. During the early part of the game when you yet can't have an LQ (haven't levelled up), if you don't take on a Challenge or can't reach a gem space and end up in a non-town space, you MUST roll the Story die.
And you can only pick one of the three options under Story Step, so drawing a LQ, you don't roll the die or explore the bazaar.
Or at least those are my readings of the rules.
What places did you find there were contradictions?