Jump to content



Photo

Can you sacrifice any of your characters at any time?


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 frogman29

frogman29

    Member

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 29 November 2010 - 09:30 AM

Can you sacrifice any of your character's at any time?  There is a deep one and ancient one combo for the Cthulhu deck that is a nasty combination, it seems to allow you to destroy three of your opponents characters every turn.  You sacrifice the deep one, then pay two to put him in play.  His text let's you detroy an opponents character.  Seems almost unstoppable.



#2 Dam

Dam

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,292 posts

Posted 29 November 2010 - 10:24 AM

frogman29 said:

Can you sacrifice any of your character's at any time?  There is a deep one and ancient one combo for the Cthulhu deck that is a nasty combination, it seems to allow you to destroy three of your opponents characters every turn.  You sacrifice the deep one, then pay two to put him in play.  His text let's you detroy an opponents character.  Seems almost unstoppable.

If you're talking about Deep One Rising, it only works when you play it from hand. Using Hydra to bounce it back into play from discard doesn't trigger its ability. And no, you can't just say, I'll sacrifice this character, you need something that allows you to sac them.


"A dirty mind is its own reward."


#3 frogman29

frogman29

    Member

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 13 December 2010 - 09:24 AM

 For the Deep One Rising ability, why does the ability not activate when it enters play from the discard pile?  Is the discard pile considered in play then?



#4 TheProfessor

TheProfessor

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,055 posts

Posted 13 December 2010 - 09:36 AM

 Well, "Play" is different than "Put into play."    Hydra puts the Deep One into play, but when you take it from your hand to the table you "play it"

 

The FAQ addresses this specifically in the section entitled "Put into Play" vs "Play" vs "Enters Play."

Here is an excerpt:

To “Play” a card is to pay all costs and follow all play restrictions in order to bring the card into play from a player’s hand. Card effects that take place when a card is played do not work if the card entered play through any alternate way.

 






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS