Jump to content



Photo

Question about timing in combat


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Rasiel

Rasiel

    Member

  • Members
  • 142 posts

Posted 29 November 2010 - 07:31 AM

Hi,

I have a question about combat, here is the situation.

Hero plays a training card Execute - kill if opponents printed defence is 0. Sauron plays Earthquake - cancel opponents combat card.

Q: Does the monster die ?

A: I would say Yes. Rules say that Heroes combat cards special ability is always resolved first. There is only one exception, if both Sauron and Hero has ability that cancels each other, than this abilities should be resolved simultaniously. Am I right ?



#2 Dam

Dam

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,292 posts

Posted 29 November 2010 - 10:14 AM

Looks correct. Previous round canceller that works this turn would also work for Sauron.


"A dirty mind is its own reward."


#3 Rasiel

Rasiel

    Member

  • Members
  • 142 posts

Posted 29 November 2010 - 07:39 PM

Yes, because previous round abilities are resolved before current cards abilities ... so if Sauron has cancel effect from previous round, the execute should be canceled.



#4 Dam

Dam

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,292 posts

Posted 29 November 2010 - 07:51 PM

Of course, it is a fairly unlikely scenario. IIRC, Sauron's decks have cards the cancel either Melee or Ranged next round, so Hero knows which card gets cancelled and which doesn't. No surprise factor as far as I can remember with regard to cancelling. I suppose if all the Hero has left in hand is Execute and Sauron plays just the right card on the previous round...


"A dirty mind is its own reward."





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS