Jump to content



Photo

Combat Question: Never engaging a front


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Doc, the Weasel

Doc, the Weasel

    Pretending to be many, many things.

  • Members
  • 1,516 posts

Posted 22 November 2010 - 05:50 AM

Can you have a combat in which both combatants only create fronts (meaning they play all their units without fighting)?

I can see a case for it in which one side is clearly superior and neither side wants to lose unit cards.


Listen to my actual play podcasts at BeggingForXP.com.

 

Take a look at my Talent Trees (Edge of the Empire and Age of Rebellion), YT-2400 deck plans for the Lazy Bantha, as well as my other handouts.


#2 allenkwest

allenkwest

    Member

  • Members
  • 44 posts

Posted 22 November 2010 - 06:13 AM

That could happen.



#3 scimon

scimon

    Member

  • Members
  • 66 posts

Posted 23 November 2010 - 12:53 AM

Definitely. If someone plays a strong card you can't trump creating more fronts to try and overwhelm it's combat value and not lose troops is a valid strategy.



#4 Konradius

Konradius

    Member

  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 24 November 2010 - 07:40 PM

Still, why would any side honour an agreement such as this? When the last card is played from the other side, why not kill it without any possible repercussions? You're already at war, else you wouldn't be fighting.

"If you do that I'll make war twice on you!"

 

Btw, this is a good example of a modified prisoner's dilemma. If both agree you both win, but one side has the potential to cheat on the last card. And if you know that why would you not cheat on the second to last card etc.



#5 scimon

scimon

    Member

  • Members
  • 66 posts

Posted 24 November 2010 - 09:17 PM

I'm not saying that the combatants would say 'Righto lets not engage on any fronts' because someones still going to lose. I'm saying you don't HAVE to engage on a front when laying a card you can always open a new one and sometimes it can be a tactically strong move.



#6 Smoo

Smoo

    Member

  • Members
  • 32 posts

Posted 26 November 2010 - 02:07 AM

scimon said:

I'm not saying that the combatants would say 'Righto lets not engage on any fronts' because someones still going to lose. I'm saying you don't HAVE to engage on a front when laying a card you can always open a new one and sometimes it can be a tactically strong move.

Sure, but if the unit you're playing has the strength to kill an opposing unit without taking wounds, I can't see any tactical reason to not do it.



#7 CapnZapp

CapnZapp

    Member

  • Members
  • 15 posts

Posted 29 November 2010 - 02:06 AM

We're not discussing WHY you'd want it, we're discussing whether you CAN do it.

 

Not until the CAN is answered will the WHY become relevant.



#8 Doc, the Weasel

Doc, the Weasel

    Pretending to be many, many things.

  • Members
  • 1,516 posts

Posted 29 November 2010 - 06:47 AM

Smoo said:

scimon said:

 

I'm not saying that the combatants would say 'Righto lets not engage on any fronts' because someones still going to lose. I'm saying you don't HAVE to engage on a front when laying a card you can always open a new one and sometimes it can be a tactically strong move.

 

 

Sure, but if the unit you're playing has the strength to kill an opposing unit without taking wounds, I can't see any tactical reason to not do it.

You want to win a battle against opponent A to reap the rewards. They have opponent B staring down their capital, so you want to leave opponent A's army intact to defend.


Listen to my actual play podcasts at BeggingForXP.com.

 

Take a look at my Talent Trees (Edge of the Empire and Age of Rebellion), YT-2400 deck plans for the Lazy Bantha, as well as my other handouts.


#9 Smoo

Smoo

    Member

  • Members
  • 32 posts

Posted 29 November 2010 - 08:19 AM

Doc, the Weasel said:

 

You want to win a battle against opponent A to reap the rewards. They have opponent B staring down their capital, so you want to leave opponent A's army intact to defend.

Well played, sir!






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS