Like many of you we had a lengthy discussion the other night during a game with respect to the Ludwig's twin 8.8 cannons and should it get 7 attack dice or 14. We came to the conclusion that given the fact that the Ludwig has the same point value as the Pounder and it is described as firing both cannons at the same time on the same target that it was intended to have 7 attack dice. In short, it is the equivalent of the Pounder to keep the game balanced. I can understand that but at the same time I can also see the argument for letting the Ludwig have 14 attack dice. The 8.8 twin cannons are described as being adapted from the German Tiger tank. Anyone with some historical knowledge of WWII knows that the Tiger tank was one of the most devastating weapons of the ground war precisely because it had such thick armor and a very powerful main gun that could easily knock out the American Sherman tanks. The 17 pound cannon on the Pounder is adapted from the British QF-17 (QF for quick firing). It was primarily a towed artillery piece used as an anti-tank weapon although it was also adapted to some tanks, most noteably the Sherman Firefly. It was about as powerful as the Tiger tank's main gun. That would mean that at best the 17 pounder is equivalent in firepower to "one" 8.8 cannon from the Tiger tank. The rules make it clear that what you see is what you get with respect to what weapons a squad or unit is carrying. Well I see two 8.8 cannons which would make the firepower capability twice that of one 17 pounder QF cannon. So just to be absolutely accurate, yes the Ludwig should be rolling 14 attack dice. But at the same time I fully understand why it's not permitted. It's just one of those short comings in a game that can happen to keep things balanced.
Now with respect to knife fighting. We had a situation in which I had a squad in hard cover by a tank trap attacking an American squad across a corner in soft cover. The question is two part really. 1. Do you resolve all fired weapon attacks, remove casualties and then resolve the knife attacks simultaneusly? 2. Does a squad in cover get to make saves during a knife attack?