Jump to content



Photo

What happens when a combat ends with an Escape result?


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 cogollo

cogollo

    Member

  • Members
  • 265 posts

Posted 01 January 2009 - 11:39 PM

Do the Hunters and/or Dracula stay in the city where the combat took place if the combat ends after a successful Escape attempt?

Or does the fleeing character have to move away from the city where they fought to an adjacent one?


Hur-Nir ran to the aid of the beaten man, recovering in the process a handful of pennies the thugs had let fall in the man's boots during their hasty retreat. - from Nulner Blues campaign

 


#2 Fabs

Fabs

    Member

  • Members
  • 146 posts

Posted 16 January 2009 - 05:36 AM

If the Hunters escape, then combat ends. They remain in the city and thier turn ends (unless it is Helsing who can still do an action, I believe).If Dracula escapes using either Man or Mist, then combat ends and he remains in the city. If he escapes as a Bat then he can move as described on the card.

So in short .. No, no-one gets a free move using escape, they just escaped the fight but remain in the city (unless Dracula escaped as a bat)



#3 Nagypapi

Nagypapi

    Member

  • Members
  • 42 posts

Posted 19 January 2009 - 08:58 AM

Esacping from a combat is ending the turn of the hunter immediately so Van Helsing can't rest/resupply/trade in this case. This is mentioned in the rulebook although at a bit obscure way. Otherwise, fully correct.



#4 silky

silky

    Member

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 08 December 2009 - 04:31 AM

 but if they escape but still occupy the same zone/city do they have to fight each other the next time it is one of their turns?  Or may any of them move away?



#5 Shin00bie

Shin00bie

    Member

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 29 December 2009 - 09:22 PM

I believe you move, then encounter on your turn.  Therefore, if the first combat was on Dracs turn,  the hunter can either stay put and fight again, or run for it and take an action in another city (assuming there's not another encounter).  If the first attack was on Drac's turn, he can choose a card to move to in the normal way, and leave an encounter.  Of course, if he felt lucky I guess he could hide and another encounter for the hunter next turn?



#6 stolen73

stolen73

    Member

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 21 February 2012 - 06:37 AM

Played this a full game for the first time this weekend and have the same questions as the original poster. Would love a comprehensive answer. Thanks!



#7 Jervon

Jervon

    Member

  • Members
  • 76 posts

Posted 21 February 2012 - 08:32 AM

stolen73 said:

Played this a full game for the first time this weekend and have the same questions as the original poster. Would love a comprehensive answer. Thanks!

 

And that question was answered quite clearly.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS